Spinach and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
It was terrific, but I modified a few things. Instead of using pine nuts, I added garbanzo beans. I also added in about 2 tablespoon of ground cumin (or to taste) which I think gives it a very nice aroma and taste. I replaced the dried basil for fresh finely chopped cilantro. Then I added very little salt to taste. Last thing I want to say is the strong smell of balsamic vinegar goes away after refrigerating it for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Like take to pot lucks - always gone I added tomato /sundried ,olives maybe top with crispy bacon,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
very good! used bacon instead because it was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Little changes make this amazing and it fits in my 'perfect' dish catagory...quick and healthy. The second time making this I cut the oil/vinegar in half and it was perfect for us. I sauté the onions for a moment with the pine nuts (both ways are good) and add kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I forgot the red onion and used gorgonzola instead of feta but altogether this was an amazing recipe. I made it for lunch all next week but I doubt it'll last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I did as other suggested and added artichoke hearts & klamata olives. Also had a yellow bell pepper I needed to use up so I threw that in there. I did reduce the amount of oil & vinegar. Husband loved it & asked next time to serve it warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this for a luncheon with chicken pesto panini and fruit salad and it was GREAT! Only used a 1/4c oil. It made a huge portion, but I ate it basically breakfast lunch and dinner until it was gone. The next day I had to add more dressing as it has absorbed it all and gotten bland. Very pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this for Superbowl Sunday to rave reviews. I followed the recipe as above but added a few extra items: Kalamata Olives, Artichoke hearts and some extra balsamic for a little more zing. As previously reviewed, this salad makes a lot but I am happy to report, it held up great for an extra two days after I made it so that leftovers could be consumed. I am sharing this recipe with all my party attendees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This salad was great! I used only half the amount of olive oil and balsamic and it was more than enough dressing for our family. Also didn't have pine nuts so substituted with chopped almonds which worked just fine. My entire family raved about this (including two 5-year-olds)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I use a store bought Balsamic vinaigrette to save time. We also use toasted almond slivers instead of pine nuts. Everyone enjoys this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States