Spinach and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Yummy! For those who dislike the strong flavor or the 'browning' of the pasta with the brown balsamic vinegar, use white balsamic vinegar. It has a slightly milder and sweeter taste, although I find it subtle. I have also used balsamic vinaigrette dressing in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe!! I added some chicken sauteed in olive oil and rosemary to make it a dinner salad. I used flavored feta cheese (it was what I had) and left out the basil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This makes A LOT of food! A great recipe where you can adjust the amounts of each ingredient up or down according to your preference. I made this, but left out the balsamic. I then scooped out a bit and tasted it with balsamic added, and compared it with another scoop with lemon juice added instead of the balsamic. I thought the lemon juice was much better in that it let the subtle flavours of the olive oil, pine nuts, basil and feta show through more. I thought the balsamic overwhelmed the other flavours. I also replaced half of the spinach with arugula. I know many people think it's wrong to change the recipe and then give a rating, but I thought I really gave the original recipe a fair shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
A nice change. 6 oz of spinach was plenty (bundled the spinach leaves and diced into thin strips.) Added about half cup of chopped dried cranberries and used blackberry balsamic vinegar. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is a good base recipe & can be easily flexed to suit your needs. I used only half of the cooked Orzo, as I wanted it to be more of a salad versus a pasta side dish. Chopped the spinach leaves using kitchen shears & subbed toasted almond slices for pine nuts (hubs & kids hate pine nuts). Served salad dry with olive oil & balsamic cruets on the side.The prepared salad without dressing stores well in the fridge. Leftover salad made a DELICIOUS healthy meal the next day by adding grilled Key West chicken strips (also on this site) over the top. Anytime I can get my kids to knowingly & happily eat vegetables is a SMASHING success in my book. Try this recipe & tweak to your liking...you really cannot go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I added a few more ingredients to this salad: artichokes, black olives and cherry tomotoess. It was a beautiful salad until I added the balsamic vinegar. In addition to turning this bright salad brown, it overpowered all of the other tastes and I only used HALF of what the recipe called for. If you love balsamic, use half. If you don't love a vinegary tasting salad, skip this recipee or use another dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was the best cold salad ever made exactly as written. I served it at a 4th of July party and all of the guests agreed. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Loved this. I made it was written and it was delicious. Next time, I will add some Kalamata olives and add some lemon juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
The combination of the pasta and pine nuts gave it a great taste and texture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavroche
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great base recipe....needs some modifications, since proportions are not adequate as is. Have made this with 1/4 of the ingredients, except needed the same amounts of onion, oil and vinegar. I actually premixed the dressing and have also used raspberry vinegar instead since I ran out of balsamic...both are good. I add some sugar too to the dressing. Also added some green pepper and goat cheese rather than feta. I preferred the goat cheese, but that is just my taste. Change all you want...still a good idea with different ingredients than most salads. Makes ALOT of salad, which is why unless I have a crowd I only use 1/4 or 1/2 a recipe, since I don't like the spinach too wilted. Arugula is my next additive when it's ready in the garden! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States