Spinach and Mushroom Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I got a new quesadilla "grille" at Target for $20 ...This is Mexican comfort food I think. Get a bunch of 10" flour tortillas since it is hard to say how many you will need. I sauteed portabella and crimini mushrooms with onion and garlic plus a few spices "du jour", also doubled the spinach and used 2% cheese of my choice. Later I did the same thing with chicken and no spinach. These are the same sauteed ingredients of many pasta dishes. The cooker makes 6 triangles from two tortillas and a handful of contents. I packaged up two of the spinach quesadillas with two chicken/vegetable ones in aluminum foil to freeze. A couple minutes in the toaster oven, or just thawed and it's instant finger food. Dice anything you like, cook it anyway you like, then put it inbetween a couple tortillas (I like flour or whole wheat or spinach or...), and it's either a snack, a meal or party food. How fun is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
These were great! However, you don't need to add oil to the pan to brown them. Just use med-high heat and they should brown just as nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Delish. The pat dry part, way important. I've made these twice (on the same day) and got rave reviews. They want to have them for another party. Didn't need oil in the pan; they toasted just from the heat of the pan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Simple, real tasty and quick...what more could you ask for? Since I like a lot of "heat" in my food, I added some chopped fresh jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
The quesadillas were okay albeit a bit bland. I served with salsa, but the filling needed a bit more oomph so the second go around I added a diced jalepeno, black beans and topped with sour cream, guacamole and salsa. I am a vegetarian and find the tastes to mix together well. Much better mhhmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Instead of spinach I used fresh swiss chard from the garden. I steamed/sauteed it with the mushrooms and garlic then drained mixture in a colander to remove excess liquid. Hubby the Hungry Carnivore gobbled up 3 of them standing at the kitchen counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
i absolutely love this recipe, i did however make a few alterations, i left out the oil, used fat free shredded mozzarella, and topped w/ hot salsa, yet they still turned out delicious... the garlic adds a really nice touch... most definetly will serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
These were soooo good! I did make some changes though based on what I had in the fridge. I used a combination of parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. Second, I used "regular" mushrooms as I did not have portobellos. I also added some fresh parsley because I wanted to use it up before it went bad in my fridge. It turned out tasting amazing and I served it was sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
i have to say that this is a great twist to quesadillas, i live in texas, and the others taste all the same. this recipe takes little time, and taste sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 13SUZETTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very tasty and quite easy to make. This was a perfect light lunch served with some rice and black beans and sour cream and salsa on the side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States