Spinach and Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I am giving this 3 stars because it helped me develop my own great recipe. This was a good concept but I changed it quite a bit. First, I wilted 3 8oz. bags of baby spinach adding no butter or oil, put in strainer and pressed water out. Then I sauted 8oz. sliced mushrooms with the 1/2 onion called for, added 1 minced garlic clove the juice of 1/2 a lemon and a few drops of worcestershire sauce (last 2 ingredients were suggested in one of the reviews I read). Mixed spinach into mushroom mixture. Put in casserole dish and topped with the cheese. I did not use any butter and only a tiny bit of olive oil with the mushrooms! It still was a little greasy I guess from the cheese. But the flavor was fabulous. Next time I will omit the cheese called for and just sprinkle with parm-regg. Thanks for the base recipe but I can't imagine all that butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
As written, this recipe had flaws which, even making changes, only made this an ordinary dish. Too much butter, so I adjusted for that. No seasoning, so I added some garlic. Also, I didn't see the need to cook the spinach separately from the mushrooms--a pointless extra step that just takes more time and dirties an extra pan. I just cooked the mushrooms, onion and garlic first, then added the spinach to the same pan--and frankly, I should have left it at that and stopped there. Finally, other than to melt a mild cheese (I also adjusted for that by using a sun-dried tomato/basil cheddar) I don't see what the purpose is of placing already cooked spinach in the oven--except to overcook it. This has potential, I guess, with a pretty major overhaul, but as written it's just not that great a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Loved this because, I sauteed the onions with 1 clove of garlic in 2TB of butter set aside..I sauteed mushroom in 2TB butter and sprinkled a little lemon juice and worchestire sauce on them..Great steak sidedish..Thank you :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Really loved it, but like everyone else, I made changes. First, I halved it which was perfect for just me and leftovers (someone suggested serving it with shrimp over rice, which I plan to try b/c it was so good). I also took others advice and just sauteed the mushrooms, onions, and spinach in the same pan with a light layer of cooking spray instead of butter. I didn't remove the stems (it seemed like a waste of time and still tasted fine). I added a splach of worchesterchire and lemon juice before putting it in the dish to bake. Instead of cheddar, which I think would overpower the flavor of the veggies, I used a small amount of swiss and covered the rest in an italian blend of romano, parm, mozz, and guyer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This recipe was a little too salty and greasy for me. The flavor of the mushrooms and spinach together was really good. Next time I think I will use about half the salt and velveeta instead of cheddar. I think that will help cut down on the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is fantastic! My family flipped over this recipe. We'll definitely be making it often. I altered it a little based on the reviews. I used more cheese and less butter. Next time, I won't use any butter. I also skipped the salt entirely and threw in a little lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce based on a previous suggestion. I love it! Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This dish was very flavorful, but it was really greasy. It would be great served on brushetta. I just couldn't handle all the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
this was very good. I used a small dash only of salt and it was fine. I also omitted butter and did a light drizzle of olive oil instead. I don't think this dish needs any butter anyway due to getting enough oil from the melted cheese. If you LOVE onions to death like I do plus are a spinach fan then you should be amazed at how great this tastes. I really took a bite of it and said out loud, "this is good!" great recipe -- the flavor beats your expectations because it was just too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I really wanted to love this recipe. These are some of my all time favorite foods so I started with strong positive bias. Alas, it just tasted like spinach, mushrooms, onions and cheese. Sure, I know that's what it is, but I was hoping for that magical transformation when a combination transcends its ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I brought this to a potluck, and everyone wanted the recipe (even some of the non-cooks, since it was so simple). I used 2 packages of frozen leaf spinach instead of fresh as suggested by another reviewer, added garlic powder, and didn't bother to cook the mushrooms first (though this releases quite a bit of liquid). Also, I definitely think it's better with Swiss cheese than cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States