Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I'm not quite sure how my husband will like it, as he is getting home late tonight, but I LOVED THIS! I read several reviews and added frozen instead of fresh spinach, crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, a jalapeno pepper (seeds removed), replaced the chicken broth with vegetable, and doubled that. Also doubled the cumin & added salt & pepper to taste. The basics for this recipe are just fantastic - I usually read the reviews to see what other healthy things I can find to add to it successfully. The couscous was a great touch - I think I added a bit too much, but the extra broth made up for it. I am SO excited to take this for lunch - and if Hubs doesn't like it, more for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Hmmm. Not sure why this got such good reviews. I followed the recipe but found it tasteless except for the cumin. Bummer, because I love all the components, it just didn't work with the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was a very good and simple soup. I used navy beans instead of the cannellini beans because that is what I had in my pantry. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I am not sure why some reviewers thought it was bland - I thought is was delicious! I guess everyone's tastes are different. I will be sure to make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used little bow tie pasta instead of couscous. I added about a table spoon of cumin just because I love the taste. I also added a splash of turmeric and it came out wonderful. Boyfriend said it was his favorite soup yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
MMMMMMM I forgot to get couscous, so I made it without. It certainly was great without it! Adding it would have made it a lot thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Tried this recipe because it's so healthy. Unfortunately, I found it a bit too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
It's a keeper! My three-year old even said "I love this soup!" I think the couscous really makes a big difference. We'll be making this soup often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
It's actually better if you make the base w/o the spinach a day before then add the spinach when you reheat. You can also add the light green parts of the leeks as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great vegetarian soup. I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken and quinoa for the couscous. It was a little bland for my friend but he added some Louisiana Hot Sauce and said it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I added a little more cumin for a stronger flavor. This soup was delicious! And it freezes well. I froze the leftovers in 2 cup glass pyrex bowls. Last night I thawed it overnight in the fridge. The couscous did soak much of the liquid but I added some boiling water from the water dispenser and microwaved for just about a minute. Tastes just as good as when I made it a couple months ago. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States