Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Delicious. I added some sun dried tomatoes, just for color, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianAndAli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
really good....thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
An excellent, nutritious and filling soup. To make it even healthier, I use baby spinach and double the amount. I also use more than the recommended amount of cumin and add a little celery salt, too. Finally, quinoa works in place of the couscous, or you can omit that part altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
prepared soup as directed...very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaatopp
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Super easy to make and pretty tasty. I will agree it was a little bland at first bite but add a little more salt, pepper and some Parmesan and you're good to go. Could not find whole wheat couscous so I used regular. I will also agree it wasn't really a soup, would definitely need more chicken broth for that. I did not add more though, I liked it as it was. Super healthy and quick to make, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaatopp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a four star recipe with potential to be five stars. I used orzo instead of couscous because I like the texture better. I agree with other raters that there are too many cannelli beans in this. A five star version of this soup is less cannelli beans and more orzo/couscous. As suggested by some raters, I used rosemary/thyme/sage instead of cumin. I also added mushrooms and more garlic. This combination may be the best soup I have ever made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband made this and I was not a fan. His version was two stars for me, but I'm giving a three because I'm not sure how closely he followed the recipe. The worst part for me was the bay leaf. It seemed to overpower the other flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was edible but not much more. My husband and I found it barely bland and had to doctor it up at the table quite a bit. Definitely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I'm not quite sure how my husband will like it, as he is getting home late tonight, but I LOVED THIS! I read several reviews and added frozen instead of fresh spinach, crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, a jalapeno pepper (seeds removed), replaced the chicken broth with vegetable, and doubled that. Also doubled the cumin & added salt & pepper to taste. The basics for this recipe are just fantastic - I usually read the reviews to see what other healthy things I can find to add to it successfully. The couscous was a great touch - I think I added a bit too much, but the extra broth made up for it. I am SO excited to take this for lunch - and if Hubs doesn't like it, more for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Hmmm. Not sure why this got such good reviews. I followed the recipe but found it tasteless except for the cumin. Bummer, because I love all the components, it just didn't work with the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States