Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Easy great soup. Use 1 tsp cumin-not two. I used 48oz chicken stock,frozen pkg spinach and quinoa instead of couscous. A big hit with everyone....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
A really good, simple soup. I initially wanted to try it with kale, but the grocery store was out, so I used 1 overflowing cup of frozen chopped spinach. I left out the bay leaf, cumin and couscous because it seemed like any additional herbs or spices would override the flavors of the main ingredients. So my only seasoning was the garlic, vegetable bouillon cube (we use Rapunzel brand, it's great for everything) and pepper, although I did add 1/3 can of evaporated milk left over from another dish for a filling consistency. In short, if you're in the mood for something with a bit more variety, skip this recipe and just make minestrone or vegetable-bean soup... although basic flavors can also be just as satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
delicious and really simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I used kale instead of spinach,what I had in the garden at the time, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Love this soup. I have made it several times now. Since we are vegetarian, I just substitute veggie broth. Easy, nutritious and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mspindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup. our only addition was one fresh cayenne pepper; cut in half, then removed just before serving. We also used vegetable stock rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
My new favorite soup! Simple and tasty. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smileigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I really like this recipe with just a few changes - I add an extra can of beans and skip the couscous. Love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I thought this recipe was very good. I did not have leeks so I substituted a sliced white onion and green onions. I added 1 1/2 cans diced tomatoes and switched out 1 tsp of italian seasoning instead of the cumin. I like the broth and added more broth and used only 1 bay leaf. I thought this soup had a bunch of flavor. I put the spinach in my bowl then added my soup. I also left out the cous cous all together to skip the extra carbs. I would definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This has become a staple in our home. Delicous and healthy. My kids even gobble this up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States