Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I found this recipe very bland and honestly, the cumin was a terrible addition. It just did not go with the soup at all. I should have omitted it and used rosemary and thyme instead, with some more onions and garlic. It was bland. I also would not add couscous, but pastina instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I found this to be a little bland. I had to add a lot of salt and pepper while eating. It could have used grated Parmesan or cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Yummy, healthy, & easy. What more can you ask for? Will add more broth next time. I also took the advice of other reviewers and put the spinach in the bowl, then ladled soup over it. Will also try the rosemary/thyme combo, but I loved it as is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Best soup EVER!!! I used vegetable broth rather than chicken- so yummy! Gave the recipe to lots of friends- now they also love this! Soup that makes you feel good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I have made this numerous times and it's a favorite with my husband and I with these changes, add a pkg of cajun style andouille chicken sausage, use the entire leek (I use 2)and I also add some extra cumin and some hot sauce. Also lots of spinach. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
excellent flavors since i followed the suggestions to use thyme and rosemary instead of cumin and added spinach to each bowl individually to prevent from getting grossy. i added parmesan on top and added chopped celery to the leeks because i had some in my refrigerator. i will use the celery again. also, next time i will use dry beans. the canned don't hold up and get mushy. flavor is still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight following the recipe exactly as written. I thought it was great! Nice and simple, but healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I had a lot of leeks so i doubled the garlic and used 3 tsp of cumin. I also added two chicken bullion cubes. I didn't drain/rinse the beens and it was fine. I used 4 cups of spinach. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Flavor is really good & soup is very filling.I did add a whole bag of spinich & next time i will give it a rough chop -other then that no changes are needed.I will be using this soup on my detox mondays as it is very tasty & filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States