Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Nice "pure" soup. I used swisscard instead of spinach. I also took about a cup of the rinsed and drained beans and about a cup of the leek/broth from the pot and pureed in a mini choper and then added it to the pot for a creamy texture. I left out the "pasta" product of orzo (since I did not have couscous) until the next day to cook when we were ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
A good idea however too bland, re-seasoned with chipotle power, crushed red Chile and substituted seasoned whole brown rice. Thought about whole tomatoes...next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Just made this (my first time ever using leeks so I found it to be very interesting) however I did substitute cream of chicken soup for half of the broth, and added crushed red pepper because as some others noticed, it was a bit bland. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a very delicious, filling recipe. Next time I will use a little less couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious every time! So easy and a fam fave. Make sure to get high quality broth- it makes a big difference. Also, if not salted properly, can be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Absolutely love this soup. Extra chicken broth and squeeze a lemon slice when serving. Add the spinach per serving so it's fresh upon reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Excellent! I have been making this for several years. It is my go-to soup and always appreciated by my husband. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love, love, love this soup! I've been making it for quite some time now and everyone loves it. It's healthy and delicious. I use fresh spinach and add it at the time of serving. I've used quinoa and couscous and both work great. This certainly has become a family fav! Thanks Beth4kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have made many recipes from this website and love most of them when they are rated so well. This one was bland and not worth the money or time making it. My husband and I are pretty good cooks but we do enjoy a lot of flavor in our dishes and this one failed. Trust me, look up a different recipe if you enjoy flavorful soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Suggest using immersion blender to use beans to thicken soup. Took advice of other reviewers and used more of the leek, skipped couscous, and put spinach in bottom of mug rather than in the soup itself. That way the spinach was fresh when I had soup the next day. I loved the cumin in the soup. Will try the rosemary/thyme another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States