Spinach and Feta Mini-Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made these for a baby shower and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by don'tcookfromnobook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These are delicious and loved by everyone! Great for parties. I had enough filling for 2 sheets of puff pastry. Maybe I didn't roll out the dough enough. It was awesome anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The recipe is good the way it is; I happen to like some extra feta. Like one other reviewer, I had enough filling for both sheets of dough, but I was using a big bunch of fresh spinach and it would be tough to tell the volume of filling until after it cooked down. I would suggest that the authors of the recipe may call it anything they like. Sure, it could be spanakopita had they chosen to use phyllo dough. The one thing I would never suggest is using crescent dough. Reviewing a recipe makes absolutely no sense if you are rating your own changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Fantastic. We added salt/chile & some lemon juice to take it up a notch. We made pinwheels out of these instead of triangle pockets. Well received & delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i think this is a very good recipe. it may not be a calzone but it's definitely not spanakopita either (which is super futzy and is made with layers and layers of phylo dough). anyway, who cares?! it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was recipe was pretty good. Everyone seemed to really enjoy them. However, I used Rhodes frozen dinner rolls instead of the puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
For a much yummier and authentic spanakopita taste as lemon juice and dill. These are not calzones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this "spanakopita" as the previous reviewer called it. I added a whole bunch of other stuff and found it to be way too rich with my ingredients. I used Pilsbury butterflake crescent rolls. I sauted red onion, fresh spinach, garlic, sliced black olives, parmesane cheese and feta cheese in extra vergin olive oil before spooning the mix into the center of the crescent dough and sealing them in to little pods. Baked for 15 minutes and it was yum yum yum but very heavy/rich. I would make again but next time I might not be so heavy handed with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSomeLady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I like this recipe and use it pretty frequently, but it isn't a calzone- it's spanakopita. Calzones mainly have mozzarella cheese and maybe a little vegetables. This is mainly spinach and a little feta- spanakopita. I would give it five stars if it was named properly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
i used a whole wheat pizza crust and some italian seasoning. turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States