Spinach and Blue Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow! I tried to halve the recipe but that still made three quarts. Instead of adding the flour to the hot oil and onions, I mixed the half cup of flour with cold water, which made one full cup(no lumps). In my Ninja I chopped an 8oz. pkg of fresh/frig dried spinich and used a cup of milk to help it move easier in the chopper. My machine is on the small side and I chopped all the spinich in two batches. In the pot with the butter and onions, I put chicken broth, the balance of the milk and slightly less than 8oz. of gorgonzola. I brought that to a boil with frequent stirring, then added the spinich/milk and stirred to a boil again. I lowered the heat,stirred in the heavy cream. I put some in a bowl with a pinch of ground sannam pepper and loved it, however, the rest of the family can't do hot peppers. We then tried ground black pepper and that touched it off nicely. I didn't have any bacon, but next time, I'm thinking that some deeply browned lean ground beef, cooked in olive oil and some garlic, would be nicer to mix into the soup. Oh yeah, I put in extra onions and only sauteed them on low heat till they turned clear. As green as it is, this would be a great St.Patricks meal starter before a lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
good, really needs bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Super, I ran too low on blue cheese so added grated cheddar as well, a lovely soup. Careful with the cayenne it gets stronger as soup matures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious and made exactly as written except using fresh spinach and vegetable broth instead of chicken. Word of caution - you really have to love bleu cheese to like this soup. The taste is VERY, VERY strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Wow-wow-wow!! Wasn't quite sure how this would turn out, but I LOVE IT!! Used half-and-half instead of the heavy cream. Also left out the bacon garnish (too lazy to make it!). I loved that it called for frozen spinach. It's easy to keep everything needed on hand for a spur-of-the-moment treat. THANK YOU All Recipes!! This will go in my "make again" file for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WileyP
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I made the recipe as written, only dividing everything in half. I sit at my computer eating the bowl of soup in the pictures I submitted and it is creamy and smooth and just the right thickness, but extremely light in both spinach and bleu cheese flavors. Oh, they are there, but you've got to concentrate to find them. No doubt that is why young children and spinach- or bleu cheese-hating adults like it, and that in itself is a plus for the recipe. However, I was looking for something stronger in flavor. I'll make it again and make my broth with lots of spinach plus double the amount bleu cheese. PS: I used no-salt-added broth and added 1/2 tsp kosher salt and 1/4 tsp cayenne and that seemed about right for the half-recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Really good and easy to make soup!! I only made a few changes: omitted the heavy cream, used fresh spinach instead of frozen, and garnished with butter & garlic croutons instead of bacon. Will be making it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
awesome soup--use the cream cheese instead of milk, fresh spinach & salt & pepper to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This recipe was WONDERFUL!!! Both my kiddos ate it and it is very hard to get them to eat veggies (especially green ones). I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I will make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Florence, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Added garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States