Spinach and Black Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was excellent. I increased the amount of broccoli, spinach,. onion and tomatoes.... just because I like them. I also added some cumin along with the cayenne. After cooking, I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. This is a very fast one dish healthy meal. When I reheated leftovers, I stirred in a couple of tablespoon of fat free cream cheese.. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was very skeptical of this recipe, but I had spinach and broccoli that needed using up so I gave it a try. It was amazingly delicious! The only change I had to make was chicken broth rather than vegetable broth. I have tried this with vegetable broth, the chicken broth definitely gives it better flavor. I also would recommend using two garlic cloves. You could easily add more of the vegetables, as they cook down quite a bit, or just halve the amount of noodles used. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I liked this alot. You feel like you are eating as healthy as you really are. I did add some chili powder, some extra cumin, and crushed red pepper flakes. Also, since the vegetable broth is already heavy in sodium, I used Mrs Dash instead of the salt. Add to make this meal more robust, I added chicken sausage. I sauteed them with the garlic and oil and let them cook along with the vegetables. It was a nice compliment to the dish. My husband really liked it, and I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
It's not haute cuisine, but it's easy, healthy, and tastes good. I enjoyed the little bit of heat the cayenne added, but those with small children or wimpy boyfriends might want to cut the amount a bit. Also, the recipe might make 8 servings if it is used as a side dish, but it will serve less (maybe 4 servings) if used as a main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This was really delicious. Even my roomate, who is a meat-and-potatoes person, loved it. The flavors blended so well... I am DEFINITELY making this agian. I used frozen spinach, chicken broth, and extra garlic. I also forgot to add the tomatoes (oops!), and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I did as another reviewer suggested and added oregano and chili powder and upped the cayene. I cooked 1/2 package of wheat rotini and appx 1 cup veggie broth. Great flavor. Will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I read all 33 reviews before making this dish and decided to make as directed first. I cooked the broth and vegetables in a large skillet and the broth cooked way down while the veggies were cooking so mine was not soupy at all. It had just enough broth to keep the pasta moist after I mixed the pasta into the dish at the end. I added enough red pepper flakes to make it mellow and not hot. I too felt it needed more seasoning beyond salt and pepper, but I didn't want to go the southwestern flavor route. I waited until the whole wheat pasta was cooked, then tried a taste test with a spoonful seasoned with basil. Next, a spoonful with oregano. I ended up adding dried basil and dried oregano to taste (a generous half-teaspoon each) and it tasted very good with the cheese sprinkled on. This is a very good week night dish. I liked it and my husband did also but commented that he would like maybe some Italian sausage on the side! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I liked this alot. You could even eat the sauce like a soup, it was that tasty even without adding the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Everyone really liked this including my 6 yr old who had 2nd's. I made exactly as written except I used fresh broccoli florets instead of frozen chopped. I will make this again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I've been making this recipe for several years. It's so tasty and easy to prepare. I use slightly less broth (about 1 cup) and usually add extra garlic. I'll also use fresh broccoli instead of frozen -- this just increases the cook time slightly, but it's so worth it. We usually eat this over rice and not the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States