Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Was this recipe ever delicious! My husband was scraping the pot and he doesn't even like chicken normally! I used Pinot Grigio for the wine and frozen spinach instead of fresh. I want to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was a RAVE at our house! DH loved it so much he seconds and thirds! I tweaked, like everyone else. I put the flour in a zipper top bag and added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Mrs. Dash. Then tossed in the chicken to coat. I used real bacon bits, and olive oil to saute the chicken. Didn't have a full cup of wine, but filled up the rest with chicken broth. Used the suggestion of another reviewer to mix sour cream and milk for the heavy cream, which worked well. Served w/egg noodles since we were out of rice. Thanks for the recipe--we'll add it to our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was really, really good! I used cream of chicken instead of the heavy cream and it seems to have turned out fine. I also used turkey bacon, and possibly because of that didn't have any extra bacon grease with which to cook the chicken--no big deal, just added some olive oil. My only suggestion is that you don't have to use that much flour--one cup or one and a half cups would have been enough for the amount of chicken given. I also added some garlic and salt and pepper to the flour before coating the chicken. I served it with green beans, parmesan-garlic roasted potatoes and the rest of the bottle of Chardonnay I used to cook with. I think I might try this again with potatoes instead of chicken, and use it as a side dish and serve with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vayerly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is delicious! I did use creative license and changed it a good bit, but it is a great base recipe. Instead of using wine and cream, I used the sparce bit of bacon drippings and a tablespoon or so of margarine and a couple of tablespoons of flour to make a roux. To that, instead of cream, I added about 2 cups of 2% milk. This made a creamy sauce, to which I then added a tblspn. of chopped garlic and one bag of spinach and the chicken. It turned out absolutely delicious! Served it with a side of rigatoni with roasted red peppers, steamed broccoli, garlic and parm. cheese. Good enough for company, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
It actually took a little longer than I anticipated, but I was doing other things at the same time, so that could be why. Anyway, it was very good- my entire family loved it. I also added a can of mushrooms to it. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk instead of the heavy cream(I do this in all recipes that call for cream). Very good! I made campanelle and mixed it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was wonderful! Never mind the fact that I took the chicken out of the pan, put it on paper towels, went out to throw away trash and came back in to find that the dog had counter surfed and eaten one of our chickens! We ended up splitting the remaining piece, but it was wonderful! I topped with tomato slices and parm cheese when I put them back into the pan, and our only complaint was against the klepto dog! I'll certainly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I served this over pasta and it was a big hit! WIll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This recipe has the potential to be a good one, but the wine sauce was thin and strongly tasted of wine. You could not taste anything else but the wine. Next time, I will replace most of the wine with chicken stock and thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch or flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Thanks, Kris! My husband wants me to keep this recipe, which I'm happy to do as it's easy and flavorful. My "bunch of spinach" was two bags of prewashed--took a little stuffing into the pan initially, but then it cooked right down into a nice amount, and I used the chicken thighs on hand. BTW, we also didn't have extra grease to pour off. The wine, sadly, was just old cooking wine because everything else disappears around here and I don't have it when I need it, but in your recipe it worked well. Thanks very much for "Kris's Spinach and Bacon Chicken."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Good stuff! Everything went well as I was preparing this recipe. Step #3 says to pour out remaining bacon fat...I didn't have any left over. Actually I had to add a tablespoon of evoo to finish frying my chicken (no big deal). Then before I added the spinach I put 1 T of butter in the pan and sauted 2 big cloves of garlic. Then I immediately added the "wine" (I used chicken broth instead because I didn't have any wine)and the spinach. I used a whole bag of baby spinach and it was the right amount. My husband liked it, my 3 little girls liked it (5 year old kept asking for more cilantro (spinach!) with her chicken!) and I liked it. The sauce is very thin (no big deal to me). I can't wait to email the recipe to my sisters and mother-in-law! Thanks for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States