Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is a great idea. I was in a hurry and just used a can of alfredo sauce instead of the cream. I forgot to add the wine but it tasted ok - next time I will try the wine. I also added some paprika and garlic salt to the sauce. Since I was in a hurry, I boiled and cut up the chicken, microwaved the bacon and threw it all together with some mini-bowtie pasta and served the spinach on the side. It passed my picky kids & husband test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickysmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was good, just not exceptional. I have learned to read reviews before making a dish on this site, but I didn't have time this time. I wish I had, because I definitely would have reduced the wine, using half chicken broth instead. The wine flavor is very strong.I also agree the sauce is a bit thin. I served it over angel hair pasta and it was pretty soupy. I also added a little garlic. If I had had mushrooms, would have added those too as they would certainly complement this dish. This reminded me of something I would have ordered at the Olive Garden. A good way to use chicken that's not totally boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esajz24
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Best thing I've ever made myself. One of the best things I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and a HUGE hit with my family. I sauteed mushrooms and garlic in EVOO and set aside before the bacon. I, too, added garlic salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I also cooked it without the lid at the end, then put the lid on and turned off the burner to allow it to 'set' for about 10 minutes. This is a definite KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was amazing. I used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 cup wine since thats all I had but it was still great! Added garlic and sauteed mushrooms. Served over pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is great. The only thing that I changed was to add some salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese. The sauce was a little thin but, after simmering for a short time, it thickened and was perfect to serrve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved it! Made some changes. I pounded the chicken breasts and sauted them whole. I also added seasoning to the flour. Garlic salt and pepper. Also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt. I used pre-cooked bacon in the microwave and then sauted the chicken in oil/butter. Took out the chicken, sauted fresh garlic, added the wine, spinach, then cream, and also added some parmesan cheese. I let it cook down and thicken, and I needed to add in more wine. Then added back the chicken, topped with bacon and tossed in 3/4 pound of cooked thin spaghetti. Tasted like something you would find at Olive Garden! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
A really great starting point. I added half of a medium sized onion while the bacon was about half cooked, and mushrooms a short while after that. Used reduced sodium chicken broth, and only a splash or so of heavy cream. Then thickened the sauce with a slurry of corn starch and broth. And cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I prepare this for lunch today. The recipe is good, but it needs a little work. I read the reviews so I decided to use chicken broth instead of white wine. The result was the sauce was in need of something else. I will add 1 tablespoon of cherry next time. I think the bacon bites do not mix well with the texture of the dish. My husband thinks the same. I will skip it next time. The resulting sauce is too thin. I recommend adding a little more flour to thick it. I had no problem with the presentation. It was beautiful. But I need to work a little bit in the flavor. I think with the extra cherry it will be a winner. My daughter loved it (and she is a though reviewer), except for the bacon bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States