Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is a great idea. I was in a hurry and just used a can of alfredo sauce instead of the cream. I forgot to add the wine but it tasted ok - next time I will try the wine. I also added some paprika and garlic salt to the sauce. Since I was in a hurry, I boiled and cut up the chicken, microwaved the bacon and threw it all together with some mini-bowtie pasta and served the spinach on the side. It passed my picky kids & husband test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickysmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was good, just not exceptional. I have learned to read reviews before making a dish on this site, but I didn't have time this time. I wish I had, because I definitely would have reduced the wine, using half chicken broth instead. The wine flavor is very strong.I also agree the sauce is a bit thin. I served it over angel hair pasta and it was pretty soupy. I also added a little garlic. If I had had mushrooms, would have added those too as they would certainly complement this dish. This reminded me of something I would have ordered at the Olive Garden. A good way to use chicken that's not totally boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esajz24
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Best thing I've ever made myself. One of the best things I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and a HUGE hit with my family. I sauteed mushrooms and garlic in EVOO and set aside before the bacon. I, too, added garlic salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I also cooked it without the lid at the end, then put the lid on and turned off the burner to allow it to 'set' for about 10 minutes. This is a definite KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was amazing. I used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 cup wine since thats all I had but it was still great! Added garlic and sauteed mushrooms. Served over pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is great. The only thing that I changed was to add some salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese. The sauce was a little thin but, after simmering for a short time, it thickened and was perfect to serrve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved it! Made some changes. I pounded the chicken breasts and sauted them whole. I also added seasoning to the flour. Garlic salt and pepper. Also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt. I used pre-cooked bacon in the microwave and then sauted the chicken in oil/butter. Took out the chicken, sauted fresh garlic, added the wine, spinach, then cream, and also added some parmesan cheese. I let it cook down and thicken, and I needed to add in more wine. Then added back the chicken, topped with bacon and tossed in 3/4 pound of cooked thin spaghetti. Tasted like something you would find at Olive Garden! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
A really great starting point. I added half of a medium sized onion while the bacon was about half cooked, and mushrooms a short while after that. Used reduced sodium chicken broth, and only a splash or so of heavy cream. Then thickened the sauce with a slurry of corn starch and broth. And cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I prepare this for lunch today. The recipe is good, but it needs a little work. I read the reviews so I decided to use chicken broth instead of white wine. The result was the sauce was in need of something else. I will add 1 tablespoon of cherry next time. I think the bacon bites do not mix well with the texture of the dish. My husband thinks the same. I will skip it next time. The resulting sauce is too thin. I recommend adding a little more flour to thick it. I had no problem with the presentation. It was beautiful. But I need to work a little bit in the flavor. I think with the extra cherry it will be a winner. My daughter loved it (and she is a though reviewer), except for the bacon bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States