Spinach Almond Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Outrageously good. Made a batch left out the cheese and froze in ice cube trays and then bagged in the freezer. Add the cheese and thinned a bit with water before serving. Tossed w/shrimpand pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this and absolutely loved it. I cooked the spinach myself so I used a bit of cooking water instead of the broth(less sodium!). Added a bit of nutritional yeast, and about a cup of silken tofu because I like creamy sauces!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is the best recipe! I'm a vegetarian so I had to use vegetable stock instead and I think I added maybe 2 or 3 times as much as called for to make it less thick. The only 2 things I can add to the instructions is to make it ahead of time due to having to prep some of the items and to make a double or triple batch so that you have plenty left over to freeze! Man this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I substitute pine nuts with roasted walnuts but followed the recipe exactly. Absolutely love the subtle creamy texture of the pesto! I'll definately make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Awesome pesto recipe. I had no idea pesto could taste this good without basil. I didn't have any almonds in the house, so I substituted toasted pecans. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing and the pesto came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Delicious! Used fresh spinach and half almonds, half pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really good! I used fresh spinach, about 3 cups or so (the amount of basil you'd use in a typical recipe) and used less liquid (about 1/2 the amounts, eyeballed it) since the fresh spinach has a good amount of moisture. I added a tbsp of dried basil, and salt and pepper to taste. If you've had pesto before, you know how you like it. :) This pesto is so good, and I love that I didn't have to spend a ton on fresh basil. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Delicious with fresh spinach. I used Cashews instead of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Delicious! Had a large bag of fresh spinach to use before it went bad, gave this pesto lovely body. I didn't have lemon juice so I skipped it. Will make this a go-to recipe for sure. I used it with whole wheat spiral pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States