Spinach Alfredo Sauce (Better than Olive Garden®) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
ok, i substituted some ingredients- I used a handful of shredded co-jack cheese instead of the parmesan, as I didn't have any parmesan. I also subbed swiss chard instead of the spinach as I had a bag frozen, I thawed it and squeezed out the water before adding to the sauce. I also added mushrooms. I also added half a block of cream cheese. It needed pepper- (I added red pepper flakes) didn't have any of that either- but with all these substitutions it was still great! I'm sure it'd be 5 star with the original recipe! Next time I will make sure I have the parmesan and black pepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PT
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great and easy! Added random left over veggies and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a very quick and forgiving sauce. I had less than the needed amount of cream, so I added just a little more cream cheese. I also used some fresh spinach I had frozen for smoothies. I just followed the general instructions, added some left-over turkey breast from the night before, and served it over pasta for my husband and zucchini noodles for me. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow! I normally just take recipes I find online and tweak them to my liking. No need here, I did use garlic salt instead of the garlic powder and salt, but . . . Wow. I actually made an account just to add this recipe. Small tip, the 3/4 c of thawed spinach is just under a 9 oz package. Even if you had a 10 oz one, just use the whole thing so you don't have to bother measuring, turns out great too. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I thought this was just ok. Thinner than I expected and almost too salty; for all those calories, I wanted perfection. I did add red pepper flakes at the end and that perked up the flavor. There was a ton leftover, so maybe it'll taste better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Oh My WOW! This is most definitely better than Olive Garden or any other Alfredo sauce I've eaten. My 6 year old is the pickiest eater when it comes to pasta dishes and asked if we could have this again tomorrow night! I cut the butter down to 1/4 cup, used 1/2 to 3/4 of a block of cream cheese (store brand 1/3 less fat version) because of other reviewers stating that the sauce had been too thin, and I didn't use spinach for my first try. Served it over 3 cheese tortellini with chopped chicken and I will definitely be trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Easy and delish! There's no beating that combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Perfect way to get my little guy to eat spinach! This is a delicious creamy alfredo recipe that will be a keeper in my house. Went perfect with a salad and breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
My daughter enjoyed these very much! Simple to make. I used fresh spinach and I think I used 1 1/2 heavy cream (threw away my notes) and kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group. I've never made alfredo before. I used a 10 oz package of spinach (didn't know what else to do with the small remaining amount). Also I used half and half just because I didn't have heavy cream in the fridge. Mine tasted good but was a bit watery, probably because of my changes. So, I added the remainder of the 8 oz package of cream cheese; that helped. Also, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to squeeze out all the water from the thawed spinach. I didn't do that- wasn't sure if it needed some water to "cook" in. Next time I would press the water out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States