Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Thanks for the recipe! Had spiedies for the first time at a friends birthday party in Charlotte, NC. Now they have been introduced to South Carolina! Made them 3 or 4 times now. Might be becoming a pro! Making a batch for a little vacation and tried putting wings in with the marinade this time, SPIEDIE WINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
this was really good.. i reduce the oil a bunch but stuck to the recipe pretty much with the exception of using fresh mint (3x the amount listed).. this marinated for 4 days in the fridge.. i ended up pan frying this b/c it was raining outside.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Wonderful! Like so many others, I once lived in upstate NY (Owego) and spiedies were part of our summers. My sister still lives there and I often asked her to send me sauce. Now I make my own and love them with chicken. We're having a salad bar gathering at our house this weekend, to welcome spring. After some wine tasting, we'll settle in for healthy salads. My husband is vegetarian but the rest of us will love adding the yummy bites of chicken to our salads. Oh, and I find it interesting, don't you, that so many of us USED to live there! I've lived in VT, CA, and now WA since those early days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Haven't had a spiedie in Binghamton before (despite living there several months), but my husband tells me these are the real thing! We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is great. I am from upstate NY, but live in Florida now. I still "import" Salamida brand sauce in the bottle from time to time. This recipe is very close to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S M Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good rendition of a classic regional dish. I try to use all fresh ingredients instead of the dried kind. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I only use the lemon and mint when I do these with lamb. Plus I use red wine vinegar. If you use chicken, they will be ready as soon as one day in the marinade. Heavier meat like pork, lamb and venison need the whole 3 days so that the vinegar tenderizes the meat. Any day with spiedies is a good day. Best eaten on Jimmy Roma's italian bread which you can only get in Endicott.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
The mint is in the recipe (because I'm the author!) ....read a little closer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Oh yeah! I AM NOT from NY... but have visited many times. My corporate office is in Elmira. I was introduced to Spiedies by one of the transplants to our NC branch. Instant love! I had guys bringing bottles of spiedie sauce down every time a work truck came this way. Local grocery store sells Salamida Spiedie Sauce, but at $5 a bottle it was getting way too pricey. This recipe rocks. I have tweaked it a bit to suit my personal tastes. We keep a couple of bottles of homemade sauce on the counter to use as salad dressing. My bride soaks her turkey burgers in it before she cooks them. AWESOME! We also use it for stir fry with a bit of extra olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is really GOOD. I am a Southern raised cook, with a touch of Yankee ( My Dad is from the North ). I don't have a grill, so I put mine on a grate and under the broiler. If it's any better off the grill I would love to eat it. Try it and enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States