Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Wonderful! Like so many others, I once lived in upstate NY (Owego) and spiedies were part of our summers. My sister still lives there and I often asked her to send me sauce. Now I make my own and love them with chicken. We're having a salad bar gathering at our house this weekend, to welcome spring. After some wine tasting, we'll settle in for healthy salads. My husband is vegetarian but the rest of us will love adding the yummy bites of chicken to our salads. Oh, and I find it interesting, don't you, that so many of us USED to live there! I've lived in VT, CA, and now WA since those early days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Haven't had a spiedie in Binghamton before (despite living there several months), but my husband tells me these are the real thing! We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is great. I am from upstate NY, but live in Florida now. I still "import" Salamida brand sauce in the bottle from time to time. This recipe is very close to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S M Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good rendition of a classic regional dish. I try to use all fresh ingredients instead of the dried kind. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I only use the lemon and mint when I do these with lamb. Plus I use red wine vinegar. If you use chicken, they will be ready as soon as one day in the marinade. Heavier meat like pork, lamb and venison need the whole 3 days so that the vinegar tenderizes the meat. Any day with spiedies is a good day. Best eaten on Jimmy Roma's italian bread which you can only get in Endicott.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
The mint is in the recipe (because I'm the author!) ....read a little closer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Oh yeah! I AM NOT from NY... but have visited many times. My corporate office is in Elmira. I was introduced to Spiedies by one of the transplants to our NC branch. Instant love! I had guys bringing bottles of spiedie sauce down every time a work truck came this way. Local grocery store sells Salamida Spiedie Sauce, but at $5 a bottle it was getting way too pricey. This recipe rocks. I have tweaked it a bit to suit my personal tastes. We keep a couple of bottles of homemade sauce on the counter to use as salad dressing. My bride soaks her turkey burgers in it before she cooks them. AWESOME! We also use it for stir fry with a bit of extra olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is really GOOD. I am a Southern raised cook, with a touch of Yankee ( My Dad is from the North ). I don't have a grill, so I put mine on a grate and under the broiler. If it's any better off the grill I would love to eat it. Try it and enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe, though I found that I had to add a lot more vinegar in to make it taste as sharp as the original. I happened to have two original bottles that I was using and ran out of sauce and used this recipe to make some more. I left some in reserve so I could compare the two and the original spiedie's has a lot more vinegar in it. Unfortunately I was pouring and tasting as I went so I didn't have a actual measurement but I'd guess I at least added another cup. I also used apple cider as that was what the ingredients on the bottle said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
my family is from Endicott and we have had these for 50 years at least, with one exception, they were always made from lamb, never chicken but since I can't get a leg of lamb where I live now, chicken is the next best thing! they are so goooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States