Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very good rendition of a classic regional dish. I try to use all fresh ingredients instead of the dried kind. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I only use the lemon and mint when I do these with lamb. Plus I use red wine vinegar. If you use chicken, they will be ready as soon as one day in the marinade. Heavier meat like pork, lamb and venison need the whole 3 days so that the vinegar tenderizes the meat. Any day with spiedies is a good day. Best eaten on Jimmy Roma's italian bread which you can only get in Endicott.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
The mint is in the recipe (because I'm the author!) ....read a little closer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Oh yeah! I AM NOT from NY... but have visited many times. My corporate office is in Elmira. I was introduced to Spiedies by one of the transplants to our NC branch. Instant love! I had guys bringing bottles of spiedie sauce down every time a work truck came this way. Local grocery store sells Salamida Spiedie Sauce, but at $5 a bottle it was getting way too pricey. This recipe rocks. I have tweaked it a bit to suit my personal tastes. We keep a couple of bottles of homemade sauce on the counter to use as salad dressing. My bride soaks her turkey burgers in it before she cooks them. AWESOME! We also use it for stir fry with a bit of extra olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is really GOOD. I am a Southern raised cook, with a touch of Yankee ( My Dad is from the North ). I don't have a grill, so I put mine on a grate and under the broiler. If it's any better off the grill I would love to eat it. Try it and enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe, though I found that I had to add a lot more vinegar in to make it taste as sharp as the original. I happened to have two original bottles that I was using and ran out of sauce and used this recipe to make some more. I left some in reserve so I could compare the two and the original spiedie's has a lot more vinegar in it. Unfortunately I was pouring and tasting as I went so I didn't have a actual measurement but I'd guess I at least added another cup. I also used apple cider as that was what the ingredients on the bottle said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
my family is from Endicott and we have had these for 50 years at least, with one exception, they were always made from lamb, never chicken but since I can't get a leg of lamb where I live now, chicken is the next best thing! they are so goooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I grew up in Endicott NY and my mother made spiedies all the time. She had acquired the recipe from a friend who was from Italy and settled in Endicott. I feel pretty sure her recipe was authentic. This is the closed recipe I have seen to hers. The main difference I noticed is her recipe called for 1.5 cups of oil to 1/2 cup vinegar. I do not marinate chicken for more than 4 hrs because the vinegar and lemon juice actually cook the meat. We always had them on Italian Bread. Bon Appetit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I grew up in Endicott, NY just outside of Binghamton. Spiedies represent summertime to me. I left Broome Country many years ago and didn;t eenjoy spiedies often for many years. In recent years my sister mpved back up north and sends me Lupo's original spiedie sauce a couple of times per year but that never last long around our house. This recipe is great and helps us get through summer down south! Use fresh herbs and don't omit the mint if you want to taste them as they were meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I first tried Spedies from a Roadside Vendor on Rt 17 just outside Binghamton.Then I found Loupos in Endicott.These were great. Made them at home & they turned out wonderful.They are well worth making.Everyone loved them.Marinade them,grill them, eat them on a sub or hogie roll.I saved the marinade,cooked it on the stove, and drizzled the sauce on the meat.Instead of using White Vinegar in the recipe,I use White Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States