Spider Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I used this recipe more as a jumping off point. I used a different chocolate cupcake recipe (don't have and didn't want to buy a mix), so I just used the decorating ideas. These really aren't too hard, but I couldn't find black licorice and so cut up tootsie rolls in order to make the legs. I liked it that way, with brown legs, but I really didn't like the effort that took. It's difficult to cut tootsie rolls! I used scissors, but the issue is the thickness and the candy sticks to the scissors. At any rate, I also used white frosting but used cocoa powder and food coloring to make it more brown. I didn't have orange sprinkles, and I really wanted to use brown sprinkles but couldn't find them. All in all, if i can find black licorice next time I'll use it. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is a fun activity for kids because my daughter is making these for her school dance only she is using red liquorish and m&m's for eyes and chocolate frosting(she didn't want to be a copy cat. i told her it was fine and she said that it's not fair. She can be so funny)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Very easy to make and very Festive. I had trouble shaping the licorice, but other then that, they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The kids in my daughters preschool LOVED these. I put the legs on and let them finish everything else. They happened to be studying spiders which worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
These were so fun to make and my daughter's pre-k class LOVED them! I was able to find the black twizzlers at CVS, but they were way too heavy. So instead I used pretzel sticks for the legs!! They were sooo cute! Thanks for such a cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Very cute idea for halloween. I used chocolate twizzlers w/chocolate icing and sprinkles (sprinkles for a hairy effect). I found no problem in getting the licorice to stick (then again I made chocolate banana muffins) 1 package of brownie w/choc. syrup mix and 1 banana + (water, eggs, oil etc.) and bake for 30 mins. Delicious! I wanted to submit a pic, but my digi cam died gggrrr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
The spider cup cakes were great I made a bunch and sent them to work with my husband to share and my kids even though they are teenagers thought they were really cool, I too had a hard time with black licorice and found black twizlers but they are real stiff and I ended up with shorter legs than I liked.. but this is a very cute recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was very fun to make with my granddaughter. I used the black vines and cut in thirds, then cut those thirds lengthwise. They legslooked hairy and as a bonus you get 6 legs out of one vine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is great! It will work great for my halloween party! i tried it out last night! worked great tasted even better thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa K
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was a lot of fun to make and my adult friends loved it. We used red licorice instead, no one liked the black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States