Spider Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I'm rating the CONCEPT of this recipe 5 stars. I used my own cake recipe and the "Chocolate Frosting I" from this site. After baking, I dipped the cupcakes in the frosting, added 2 red hots for eyes and then dipped in chocolate sprinkles. I made several without legs and only a few with legs (the legs were messy). I couldn't find black rope licorice, so I used rainbow colored Twizzlers. I sliced them into two equal portions and then slit each portion lengthwise (1 Twizzler = 4 legs). I shoved 6 legs into the cupcakes after I had put on the eyes & sprinkles. I brought these to our "October Birthday Celebration" at work. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Made these with my Daycare kids as we were doing a "Spider" theme last week. The kids loved them! Very easy to do and great to eat! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Turned out fine, wish I would've known how to make the spider legs bend down instead of stick straight up in the air
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haddixs1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My 3 year old had a great time making these. Needless to say he doesn't quite have the motor skills to make them look perfect but we had a good time and they tasted good! Fun idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Huge hit at my sons birthday party at school!! Red licorice works just fine and I also cut mike and ikes candy for the eyes...thought the red hots would be too hot for 4 year olds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susy Corcoran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Very cute! I recommend refrigerating the cupcakes overnight to make it stick together better. Lots of compliments and fun for my daughter's classroom Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Fun recipe! No shoestring licorice whips to be found. :( But improvisation is good, too. :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
These were a hugh hit with my daughters Pre School classes Halloween party. I used pipecleaners in place of the legs and used a white cake mix and chocolate frosting. The kids kept calling them "trantualas". Thanks for the cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesyka
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Love love love this recipe! It was so much fun to make as well as eat. It was a hit with my niece as well as my co workers. The only adjustment I made on it was I used Chocolate Twizzlers for the legs and cut them in half to make them thin and Reese's Pieces for the eyes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesyka

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I found it SO HELPFUL to prepare everything & lay it all out the counter in sections before beginning to decorate. Saved so much trouble of trying to stick my messy hand that would occasionally touch icing into a bag of candy! I also used regular black licorice; HOWEVER, they do NOT transfer easy if you're using one of those cupcake carriers to take them somewhere. The legs get in the way, so you lose a lot of space & I cut the licorice super short! :) SO... I made half spider cupcakes & then half the bat cupcakes (from this site). That way, there was only a spider cupcake every other space which made it easier to stick them in whatever pan you have. The skinny licorice stuck on the sides of the cupcakes instead of on top did help them stay on longer. Try the bat cupcakes b/c they're equally cute! I like the idea of just using black piping to create the full long leg look too. I mean...who likes to eat black licorice anyway? Oh wait, my husband ...but most people don't ;) Have fun with these and use different colored icing or even try a cupcake recipe (on this site) that has something gooey in the middle like peanut butter. They can be guts of the spider
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States