Spider Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I love this. First time I went overboard for halloween and I'm glad I made this... my kids were impressed, other kids think it's freaking cool,,, this one easy recipe made me proud... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninatamayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by zZaMaMa
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The were really fun to make and my girls (and the neighbors) loved them! I took the advice of other reviewers and used the peel and twist twizzlers, instead of trying to find black licorice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zZaMaMa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Ok, we had fun with this one for my sons Halloween party and they were a big hit! As another member said, we were unable to find the licorice so improvised with non-edible black pipe cleaners. Very creative and fun project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clockwerk Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA
Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I used red pull apart licorice for the legs (it helps to use a toothpick to poke it down into the cake), and slices of marshmallow and m&ms for the eyes. Everybody loved them. Next year i'm gonna add cherry pie filling in the middle for some blood and guts! WAAAAHAHAHAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Photo by vegechik
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I used chocolate cupcakes and chocolate frosting. I couldn't find black shoestring licorice, so I used pretzel sticks for legs, which worked OK, but the pretzels got soggy after being refrigerated for a little bit. We also made a "kitty cat" version by rearranging the decorations. Fun to make with the kids - my 3 and 5 year old had a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were a hit at the Halloween party we went to. Looked great on the tray with the other cupcakes we decorated. I added a dark chocolate kiss in the center of each cupcakes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
these were fun to make- used orange and black smarties for the eyes and we sprinklrd on black sparkle flects they looked reak=lly cool the kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Love the idea, especially as a licorice fan. As for finding blank shoestring licorice, a quick Google search shows a number of online 'nostalgia' merchants selling it. Plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I just made these for my sons 2nd grade Halloween party. The kids loved them! I coudnt find thin black licorice either. I used choc. frosting, choc. sprinkles (to look fuzzy) and I used choc. flavored twizzlers. I used one twizzler for each cup cake. I cut it in half and then quartered each piece to make 8 legs. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Great idea! Thanks. I would strongly suggest following the recipe and refrain from using pipe cleaner. Pipe cleaners are NOT food safe- lead is more than likely present and is not an ideal substance to feed children. Not scolding... simply bringing it to your attention in case you were unaware. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States