Spicy Zucchini Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
YUM!! Such a great recipe! But make sure to double it if you want a lot of cookies. The cloves and cinnamon added just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These cookies turned out awesome- but I made a lot of changes. Before adding the zucchini I let it sit with some salt for 30 mins to get the extra moisture out, but that made my batter was too dry so I added another egg. Then I used pumpkin pie spice instead of straight cloves, and with the raisins I tossed in a handful each of pumpkin seeds, pecan pieces and coconut. I ended up with about 4 dozen soft, perfectly golden and very tasty cookies. I may never make them again though, because I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Bravo on this cookie recipe, Deb C! I would not have thought of adding cloves to an oatmeal cookie, but it turned out to be absolutely delicious! I love the fact that I can hide a vege in my husband's cookies (yes, kids come in all ages). The only thing that was a little odd is that my cookies did not spread out - they stayed mounded, but that could be because I used gluten-free flour. Other than the GF flour substitution, I made these exactly to instructions, and will definitely make them again. A not-too-sweet, very tasty, all around great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmm
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Made a few modifications to these delicious cookies. Sub'd out 1/2 c whole wheat flour and 3/4 c AP, 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c butter, and 2/3 c milk chocolate chips for the raisins. Wasn't sure how they were going to come out. The dough had a weird consistency but they baked out great. Didn't really spread in the baking and came out very cake like. Brought them to work and everyone complained I didn't make more. Will make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Too cake like for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were too dense and cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I thought these were great, but they didn't really fly with the kids. I made 1/2 with raisins and 1/2 with choc. chips and even the choc. chip ones didn't get rave reviews. But, I loved them! A little bit of a strange texture and didn't keep that well, past a couple days. I think I would make these again to serve fresh if I was hosting a tea/coffee at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
YUM! I made these cookies for Hubby for Father's Day as oatmeal is his favorite cookie. I did not plant zucchini this year but my friend gifted me some when I had her and her hubby for dinner. The only thing I did different was to not remove the moisture from the zucchini because I was using parchment paper and did not grease the baking sheet. We found these cookies very flavorful, delicious, and perfectly moist. They are like a cross between a cookie and a muffin. Perfect with a cup of coffee. Just the right size. I will definitely make these again the next time I am gifted more zucchini. Thank you Deb C for sharing such a YUMMY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made for a potluck at my school with garden zucchini. I doubled the zucchini, didn't squeeze out any excess water (they were nice and moist and fluffy), added a bit of salt, semisweet morsels instead of raisins, and some walnuts. Would be good with butterscotch chips, too. Very good. Was the first dessert gone and many asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States