Spicy Watermelon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Sorry, we didn't care for this. I'm a huge fan of chili lime (Tajin seasoning) on fruit - mango, pineapple, melon - it's one of my favorite snacks, so I thought for sure I'd like this. The cumin was overpowering and the combination of lime with the spices gave everything a bitter flavor. I tried the next bowl without lime and that was better. A sprinkle of salt improved it. If I make this again, I'd definitely leave out the cumin, and possible the coriander too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Neither the children nor the adults liked this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Just took this to a 4th of July party. It was very well received. It does have a bit of a kick to it at the end. I would recommend it to folks, but I would also recommend to add less spice than called for if you do not like food with too much heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This Spicy Watermelon is very similar to the spicy watermelon cups I purchase at my local Flea Market. I enjoy having during the summer months. The salt & heat really bring out the sweetness of the watermelon. And this recipe saves me buckets of money, since my local flea Market sells their cups for $5 bucks a piece. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGREEN36

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was not enjoyed by the adults or children. I'll stick to the occasional sprinkle of salt on my watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Definitely making this again. So glad I tried it, the name says it all. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What a great combination of flavours! Never would have thought to add these spices to watermelon. So glad we did. This is a must try, it's so different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This is spicy, cool and refreshing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States