Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I modified it just a tad, based on what I had in the house. No masala, no coconut milk. I changed chick peas to red beans and the curry I split with 2 tsp yellow curry and 2 hot madran curry. EXCELLENT. I used it as a side dish. Only problem I had my way was tooo hot for my wife. Less hot curry next time. But a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael McCormick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
A little on the spicy side, but other than that, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnyaSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made it as written. Turned out very good, but pretty spicy. Having it with rice cut down on the spiciness nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chesstone
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, except one extra potato and only 1 tsp of cayenne. Although it was good, it was too spicy for me to fully enjoy. Cayenne is one of my favorite spices because I like heat, but even this was too much for me. Next time I will use 1/3 tsp only, and I will also leave out the ginger for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Essential to have this recipe at all times when making curry. The spices in everyone's garam masala will vary.This recipe introduced me to the wonderful world of homemade vegan curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
It's just fabulous! :) I found that recipe on a vegan blog where it was proposed and today, I finally tried it on my own. A little unsettled by some "not so good" rates, I was very positively surprised that the recipe is PERFECT. I could say after the first bite that this curry will become one of my favourite recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Ka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendacannedy
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
so good!!! used 6 potatoes....everything else as per recipe. sooo yummy and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This recipe is easy and quick, and tastes delicious! Husband really likes it eventhough we usually do not eat Indian or vegetarian food. If you are really short on time or money, frozen peas and frozen potatoes work just fine for this recipe. You would skip step 1 and just add the potatoes to the mix and simmer for a bit. Also, I buy my curry powder in the Mexican foods section of the store and it is much cheaper than the regular spice section. Great recipe for an introduction to Indian food. Complex flavors in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
It's very good but too much Cayenne and I love heat. It overpowered the other spices. Maybe half as much Cayenne and the recipe will taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Delicious!!! I have never before reviewed a recipe but HAD to review this one! Perfect blend of spices and flavors and very easy to prepare! I was afraid it would be too hot with 1 1/2 tsp of cayenne, but it wasn't...at least not for us. My husband loved it and said I definitely need to save this recipe and make it again. Over an hour after dinner and we're still talking about it! Creamy, spicy, rich, and perfect with brown rice. The only alteration I made was using 2 large potatoes plus 2 cups of cauliflower rather than 4 potatoes. Give this one a try. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States