Spicy Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
We use ground turkey instead. I usually add a tsp of chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic, a tsp of cayenne and 2 tsps. of cumin to give it some extra flavor. Also, try browning the ground turkey with olive oil and garlic powder. This is a fave. There is rarely enough for a meal by the time it is finished cooking because one of us always has a spoon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This recipe is a great chili alternative for people who don't eat red meat. None of the flavor is sacrificed, and it was just hot enough for me (the heat level can easily be adjusted). Best of all, this is an easy, no-fuss recipe. The leftovers taste great too! When I made it, I used a pound of ground fresh turkey rather than canned turkey. Cheap and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I took a chance and found this for a luncheon and it went like hotcakes!! I've got many requests for this recipe, unfortuneately I have to tell them where I "found" it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Corwynn, once again, I am pleased with the results of a recipe submitted by you. I used ground turkey, (because I had a pound of it taking up freezer space) but I bet it would be just as good with the canned. Upon my first taste, I was like "I don't know about this one" but after an hour of simmering and the seasonings blending = good eats! By the way, I used the "chili seasoning II" from this site which worked great. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, and I've made it several times with a few changes depending on the crowd. First off, I use fresh ground turkey, add a chopped bell pepper, a can of rotel, and a couple of tbs of sugar - ALWAYS. For my spicier friends, I substitute half the kidney beans with hot chili beans (this is my favorite way to have it). For those who prefer a milder chili, I leave out the chopped chilies, and use the mild chili beans. Regardless of the crowd, this chili always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have been making this for a long time, and I use fresh ground turkey meat. I brown the meat first, and I eliminate the chili peppers, since I do not like it that spicy. I make it often, since it is a fave recipe of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I halved this recipe for a 1.5 Quart Slow Cooker. I substituted the canned Turkey for one diced Chicken Breast (uncooked) and turned it into "Spicy Chicken Chili" and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCesena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I made this on football sunday for my in-laws. They loved it! I used ground turkey and browned it before adding to the other ingredients in the slow cooker. With an hour left I added 1/4 cup of water mixed with 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken the mixture up a little. It was perfect on a cool afternoon! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGPANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is easy and wonderful! I used fresh ground turkey and browned it in a bit of olive oil and onion. I have made it in the slow cooker or just in a pot...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very good recipe! However, very spicy. I only used 1 packet of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States