Spicy Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My boyfriend and I LOVE this chili. I do make a few modifications. I prefer to use ground turkey, so I mix everything else together while browning the turkey. I also add some extra chili powder and a little cajun seasoning to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Used canned chicken but any cooked chicken or poultry will do. Didn't see canned turkey at the store. Canned chicken is tender & convenient. I thought it could use maybe twice as much meat. Anyway, it is good, if you like things spicy and real tomato-y. It is spicy but not real "hot." We added cooked macaroni to tone it down a bit, but it was a good, easy chili. Instead of slow cooking it, I brought to a boil and simmered covered real low for a couple of hours. Thanks, from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
When I first started cooking I made this recipe and really liked it; however, I made this again a few years later and I did not care for it at all. Not sure if I did something different this time around or my cooking skills have improved thus changing my expectations, but I won't be keeping this in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
For how easy it is...this recipe is awesome! I used ground turkey and first cooked it in the skillet with garlic powder. Made everything else as is and was excellent. It makes a lot! Thanks, Brittany
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, and I've made it several times with a few changes depending on the crowd. First off, I use fresh ground turkey, add a chopped bell pepper, a can of rotel, and a couple of tbs of sugar - ALWAYS. For my spicier friends, I substitute half the kidney beans with hot chili beans (this is my favorite way to have it). For those who prefer a milder chili, I leave out the chopped chilies, and use the mild chili beans. Regardless of the crowd, this chili always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe is okay. The packet seasonings make it really strong and I only used one package. I think that I can find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
We use ground turkey instead. I usually add a tsp of chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic, a tsp of cayenne and 2 tsps. of cumin to give it some extra flavor. Also, try browning the ground turkey with olive oil and garlic powder. This is a fave. There is rarely enough for a meal by the time it is finished cooking because one of us always has a spoon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very good recipe! However, very spicy. I only used 1 packet of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have been making this for a long time, and I use fresh ground turkey meat. I brown the meat first, and I eliminate the chili peppers, since I do not like it that spicy. I make it often, since it is a fave recipe of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good chili, but wasn't spicey enough for me. Will add jalapenos next time. I used ground turkey instead of the canned stuff. Browned it first, then cooked it all for about 8 hours on a low setting. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States