Spicy Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My boyfriend and I LOVE this chili. I do make a few modifications. I prefer to use ground turkey, so I mix everything else together while browning the turkey. I also add some extra chili powder and a little cajun seasoning to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Used canned chicken but any cooked chicken or poultry will do. Didn't see canned turkey at the store. Canned chicken is tender & convenient. I thought it could use maybe twice as much meat. Anyway, it is good, if you like things spicy and real tomato-y. It is spicy but not real "hot." We added cooked macaroni to tone it down a bit, but it was a good, easy chili. Instead of slow cooking it, I brought to a boil and simmered covered real low for a couple of hours. Thanks, from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
When I first started cooking I made this recipe and really liked it; however, I made this again a few years later and I did not care for it at all. Not sure if I did something different this time around or my cooking skills have improved thus changing my expectations, but I won't be keeping this in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
For how easy it is...this recipe is awesome! I used ground turkey and first cooked it in the skillet with garlic powder. Made everything else as is and was excellent. It makes a lot! Thanks, Brittany
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, and I've made it several times with a few changes depending on the crowd. First off, I use fresh ground turkey, add a chopped bell pepper, a can of rotel, and a couple of tbs of sugar - ALWAYS. For my spicier friends, I substitute half the kidney beans with hot chili beans (this is my favorite way to have it). For those who prefer a milder chili, I leave out the chopped chilies, and use the mild chili beans. Regardless of the crowd, this chili always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe is okay. The packet seasonings make it really strong and I only used one package. I think that I can find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
We use ground turkey instead. I usually add a tsp of chili powder, 2 cloves of garlic, a tsp of cayenne and 2 tsps. of cumin to give it some extra flavor. Also, try browning the ground turkey with olive oil and garlic powder. This is a fave. There is rarely enough for a meal by the time it is finished cooking because one of us always has a spoon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very good recipe! However, very spicy. I only used 1 packet of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have been making this for a long time, and I use fresh ground turkey meat. I brown the meat first, and I eliminate the chili peppers, since I do not like it that spicy. I make it often, since it is a fave recipe of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good chili, but wasn't spicey enough for me. Will add jalapenos next time. I used ground turkey instead of the canned stuff. Browned it first, then cooked it all for about 8 hours on a low setting. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States