Spicy Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Was skeptical about canned turkey meat (didn't even know that existed!), but it was fine. Recipe could use 3 cans and spicy chili seasoning. I mixed dark and light red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great stuff and easy to make. I usually use two onions and toss in some jalapenos for some extra spice! As a bachelor, I live on this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This one is a great recipe! It tastes good and very convenient to cook if you have a busy schedule. Just make it at night before you go to bed, and it is ready in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
My husband and I loved this dish. For us, it wasnt very spicy so we added some hot sauce in the crockpot and also on the dish right before we served it. We also put a dollop of sour cream on top. Delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
i'm a huge chili lover and the taste was just really off.I wouldn't add the canned green chilies at all -i'd use diced green peppers and only one pkg chili seasoning .Then add a 1/4 cup chili powder-1/4 teas. red pepper flakes, 1 heaping TBL of cummin, and 1 bay leaf..flovor will be alot better.I also just cooked it on stove top and used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was delicious and my husband loved it too. I did change some things... 1 lb ground turkey which I browned with chopped onions and garlic. I used 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 2 cans diced tomatoes and 2 small cans tomato sauce. 1 can green chillies. 1 lg can kidney beans and 1 lg can red beans. I used 1 packet of taco seasoning mix bc I didn't have chili seasoning mix. I think the taco seasoning gave it a really good flavor. I added minced garlic and chili powder probably about a tbsp and a dash of cayenne pepper. We added shredded cheese and wrapped it in heated tortillas. Delicious!! Next time I might make it with about 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McCall Stump

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Spicy Turkey Chili Haiku: "Not sure about this. 'Twas a good, basic chili. But not that 'spicy.'" I guess the submitted expected one to use a certain kind of "chili seasoning mix", b/c, really, that's the only thing that would make this as spicy as she says it to be. I halved the recipe, using 3/4 lb. of ground turkey that I browned w/ the onion, but followed the recipe faithfully, only tossing in a near-empty bag of frozen corn. This is the kind of chili that would work really well on top of french fries, a baked potato, hot dog, or hashbrowns, as it's not really remarkable standing on its own, but it's, by all means, not bad. Bonus points for it being super-easy to make, but definitely not a chili for wow'ing a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I had some leftover chicken, so I chopped it up and used it instead of the turkey. Plus, I also made one of the chili seasoning recipes from this website, and everything worked out wonderfully! Pleasantly spicy and perfect with some cornbread muffins. I'll certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Canned meat kind of freaks me out so I used ground turkey. I seasoned it with chili powder and quite a bit of red pepper flakes because we like it hot! I also cut up two jalepenos to add the the crock pot. This recipe is called "spicy" but I'm not sure how it could have possibly been spicy with out my jalepeno and red pepper flakes added in. I used rotel with geen chillies instead of stewed tomatoes because I don't care for stewed tomatoes. I also used pinto beans along with the kidney beans. I didnt add any water either. It was GREAT! I gave it threee stars because I chagned most of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Amazing chili!!! I used 1 lb of ground turkey instead of the canned turkey. I also browned it with some Worchestire sauce prior to putting it in the crock pot. It was awesome and is definitely a go to meal for the future in our home! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States