Spicy Tuna Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
We have used this recipe several times, except we use salmon instead of tuna (farmed salmon is more environmentally conscience). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Is only marginally OK. Canned tuna is just not the way to go for a tuna sushi roll. The rice is also not done in the traditional matter. The sauce for the rice should be made separately and not done when cooking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asummergirl
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Makes THE BEST spicy tuna rolls ever! Although i did make some variations to the recipe. I did not use the carrots. I also did not use canned tuna I used fresh raw tuna (it tastes much better). Chili powder was a nice touch! TIP: did NOT over stuff the roll. yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asummergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
As this was my first time making sushi, I was quite impressed with myself. However, as a sushi connoisseur I thought this was just okay. Maybe it was the tuna from a can or maybe it's because I thought it was a tad too dry. I feel like you needed more mayo and spiciness to mix in with the tuna. I bought a little container of spicy sauce from Wegman's in the pre-made sushi section. I was 99 cents if I remember correctly. I put a little dollop of this on each piece and it SO improved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I had really high hopes for this recipe since my husband and I are big sushi fans, especially any spicy rolls. However, this did not taste like restaurant spicy tuna. Instead, I tasted each part (chili powder, tuna, wasabi) instead of the sum of the parts: Spicy tuna. The tuna was dry, as noted by other reviewers and somewhat fishy. To the rice, I added a bit of salt and sugar and it was great... but not good enough to fix the tuna. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skater Ky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Mmmmmmmm! Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScarlettefromGuam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dededo, Dededo, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
For another tuna twist try substituting the spicy tuna with shoyu tuna--take 1 can drained tuna and add 3 tbs sugar and 4 tbs soy sauce and heat until the tuna absorbs all of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was descent, it was a little fishy tasting, but it was ok. I made too much sushi for dinner and had some leftovers for lunch the next day. I actually think this one tasted better the next day. The tuna seemed a lttle dry, maybe more mayo? I used the pouched white tuna as recommended by a couple of reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seana Hon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
We eat sushi at home pretty regularly. The 2yo and the 6yo love to help layer veggies on the rolls. We usually just do vegetarian sushi but I had the rare can of tuna in the house and decided to try it. The flavor is good. The texture of canned tuna was less than desirable. I think if you used a chunkier, higher quality pouched tuna, it would be MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWCHOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Prepare Nigiri Sushi

See how to prepare beautiful and delicious nigiri sushi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States