Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
AWESOME! This is my first review but I had to because this is a tasty inexpensive lazy dinner night type recipe. Added 1/2c. green onion, couple shakes hot sauce, heaping tbsp. Mayo for smooth consistency and I baked on foil lined cookie sheet sprayed with oil, at 350 for around 20-25 min...my husband told me I needed a raise because he isn't paying me enough. Used albacore tuna and had no problem at with dryness. Thanks Raquel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These were phenomenal! My crew hates canned tuna but they gobbled these down. This is one recipe that will definitely be going into the rotation. I knocked about 15 minutes off my cook time by microwaving my potato. Works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I've fried and baked these and I find baked is easier, about 25 minutes at 350 will do it. I have a generally hard time frying fish cakes without them falling apart a bit. This is a good choice if someone in your family is not a big fish fan, it is the chicken of the sea after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is superb - we are addicted to this quick and easy and very tasty recipe. I add a bit of corn to the mix just for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good! The whole family liked it. I do wish it had a little more tuna flavor, but I loved the texture of the potato with the fish. I imagine you could substitute cooked, chopped chicken or other meats for the fish. I did make a few changes. I used minced garlic instead of powder and sweet and spicy garlic festival mustard instead of dijon. I also omitted the cayenne because my 2 year old is sensitive to spicy foods. For the adults, I served it with a miracle whip, mustard, and hot sauce dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I tried it both without and with the potato, and I have to say, the potato really makes this recipe. The patties hold together a lot better than with flour and egg alone. I also used a quick sauce made from equal parts spaghetti sauce and real mayo + 1tsp of fresh squeezed lemon juice. Perfect! If you microwave the potato, the whole meal can come together in under 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
delicious! Boyfriend loved these, and not too spicy at all! Served with dipping sauce- 2 parts mayo, 2 parts sour cream, 1 part plain yogurt, some onion powder and a pinch of cayanne pepper. Needed the sauce as it was a bit on the dry side. for next time I will try and make these thinner so they will turn out more with a crunch on the outside. Overall- very good, and you should give a try! Only took me 30 minutes start to finish too, made 7 medium patties the size of my palm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made these tonight exactly as directed and threw most of them out in the trash. Horrible! Tasted like mashed potato with a bit of tuna thrown in. Sorry but we were not impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I would have given this recipe a 5, but I didn't use a potato. I followed the recipe closely with the exception of reducing the amount of cayenne pepper and increasing the amount of breadcrumbs. I did not add onions, but it didn't seem to matter much. Great easy, fast recipe that involves most ingredients you have. I used an ice cream scooper to make scoopfuls of patties, then flattened them while they were in the skillet. This prevented them from breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States