Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Raquel these were super yummy! The only thing that I did change was I used saltines instead of bread crumbs because I was out and too lazy to make some. I love the addition of potato, it gave the cakes a great flavor! These were super simple and quick to make. Thanks for a great recipe that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made these the other night for dinner. They were excellent. The only change I made was to add 3 cloves of minced garlic in place of the garlic powder b/c I didnt know I was out of it. Even my kids who hate fish liked these. Thanks Raquel I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Meemeees
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great Recipe. I omitted the potato and used panko breadcrumbs instead. I also made a lemon aioli to go on the side for dipping. Very good dish with no complaints from the family nor leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemeees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Hey, I am the recipe submitter. This recipe was featured in the daily videos on Jan 8th, 2013 and I just want to confirm that video is made by AR and not by me, so if there are differences from what is actually written here, that is not my doing. Either way, have fun and play around with your ingredients! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious with a few changes. I used thin-sliced scallions in place of onion. Used 2x finely crushed corn Chex in place of breadcrumbs to make it gluten-free. I also mixed in a little shredded cheddar cheese (yum). I refrigerated the mix for a while to make it easier to make patties with. Fried in a little butter, served with lemon juice on top and garlic aioli. Soooooo good!!.............................PS. If you find them hard to work with, a couple things to keep in mind. Drain the tuna and potatoes thoroughly to remove all excess moisture. Also, refrigerate the mixture before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I loved this! I added about 1/4 cup shredded raw spinach leaves for some hidden veggies, and served with a little ketchup. Even my 19 month old daughter loved this and ate her entire tuna cake! Thank you for such a non "fishy" tasting tuna recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
AWESOME! This is my first review but I had to because this is a tasty inexpensive lazy dinner night type recipe. Added 1/2c. green onion, couple shakes hot sauce, heaping tbsp. Mayo for smooth consistency and I baked on foil lined cookie sheet sprayed with oil, at 350 for around 20-25 min...my husband told me I needed a raise because he isn't paying me enough. Used albacore tuna and had no problem at with dryness. Thanks Raquel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I used an albacore tuna and that was a mistake. They were very dry and fell apart in my pan. Don't get me wrong, they were DELICIOUS!! But I'll use tuna that is more moist the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Made this for evening meal tonight. Very different from the usual fried tuna that my mother made. Next time I will cut back on the Dijon mustard and Garlic powder. And eliminate the cayenne pepper. Too spicy for us old folks. It also took quite a bit more olive oil before they were browned. Otherwise a nice change from the usual fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I tried it both without and with the potato, and I have to say, the potato really makes this recipe. The patties hold together a lot better than with flour and egg alone. I also used a quick sauce made from equal parts spaghetti sauce and real mayo + 1tsp of fresh squeezed lemon juice. Perfect! If you microwave the potato, the whole meal can come together in under 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States