Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I wanted to like this recipe because I usually enjoy fish cakes but these are lacking....something. I found them to be bland and a tad mushy inside, I even gave them some extra time to crisp and firm up properly. I'm not sure where I went wrong, perhaps it has something to do with the texture of my mashed potatoes? The seasoning definitely needs to be bumped up, imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Thought these were very good! I cut back a little on the cayenne because the kids were eating them but followed everything else. I wonder if those who mentioned they were mushy perhaps made them more thick than I did...mine weren't mushy at all but I can see how they might be if you didn't flatten them somewhat. I served with homemade tartar sauce. I preferred these over salmon patties. Definitely a nice change of pace. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Yes the spagetti squash is excellend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
We loved this recipe! I tried it out a couple weeks ago as I was looking for some new Lent recipes. My 1 year old daughter loved them! I did not add the cayenne pepper since my daughter would be eating them and they were still delicious. I used canned albacore as it's all I had in my pantry and they turned out great. I really couldn't even tell the potato was in there but I think it helped it stay moist and put together. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These were delicious! i'll maybe reduce the cayenne pepper, but definitely doing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
We had some fresh tuna baked seasoned with Mrs. Dash, not canned. We did not care for the mashed potatoes in the recipe. It gave it a mushy soft texture on the inside. I unintentionally failed to add the cayenne pepper. I am going to try recycle the leftovers, add an egg, crushed crackers, jalapenos, & grated cheese & re-fry in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this as an appetizer for a party and put it on a platter and the adults loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added some celery and shredded carrots for extra veggies. I also omitted the egg and breadcrumbs and upped my potato just a bit! My teenager loved them! This goes into our "keeper" recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I liked them, they just seemed to me to be missing something. My wife liked them better than me and she is not a tuna fan so maybe I don't know what I am talking about. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Thumbs up from my husband and our 17 yr old son liked it so-so (but he ate 3 1/2 of them). I had no fresh potatoes so I used a can of the peeled, white potatoes and it seemed to work out great and cut down on the prep time. As a dipping type sauce I made some sour cream mixed with the italian seasonings and parsley flakes. Thanks for submitting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States