Spicy Tomato Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I used balsamic vinegar because it's what I had. I cut the apple juice and added a chopped apple. Love the combination of spices, reminds me of the sweet and sour meatballs my family makes at Christmas every year. I think this would be good with cranberry juice too. Might try a small batch to see. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yummy! This is a terrific recipe. We have plenty of tomatoes here in FL. and lemons. I questioned using lemons and tomatoes together and was amazed at how good they worked together. I mixed cream cheese with the jam and served it as a dip. Four guests gobbled it up in an hour and asked for more! I'll be canning this again but, this time, I'll make three batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good, great on crackers with cream cheese. It's a good way to use up your tomato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this! However, I made a few changes which I think made it better and will help clarify the process. Instead of weighing the tomatoes, I used 12 cups of diced tomatoes, mostly because with less, the cup of vinegar I added to only 8 cups was way too vinegary for my taste. I used only one cup of brown sugar, left out the cayenne and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. I cooked it down for 2 hours and canned 3 pints. The leftover half pint tasted great on fresh bread. I'll be making lots of this - it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMLYTKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I had too many tomatoes this year so I decided to use them in this recipe, it turned out to be a nice flavour spicy tomato jam. The only thing is that I dobled the recipe and reduced the mix until it had a jam consistency and it didn't fill 7 pints, so... don't spect much from 3lbs of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is great with pork loin, pork chops, or pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dscsf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Delicious. It will be great with crackers,cheese and a good bottle of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I did a double batch with an extra # of tomatoes with the hopes of 7 pints, I got 6. I like the flavor, but could have used more precise instructions as a "noob". (This is my first time canning anything other than dilly beans) I simmered for at least two hours. Apparently, that was not enough as it is still too thin. I thought maybe it would thicken up, but it hasn't. (I guess that makes sense, nothing really in it to thicken, but just want to pass that on, in case someone else thinks the same thing) I took it off the burner b/c it looked like all the tomatoes were cooked pretty much to nothing, and I had the impression that it would stay chunky, it did not. Also, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to just slice up a whole lemon or peel it. I kept it whole. I used one lemon for the whole double batch and I think that was more than enough, I can taste it clearly. Overall, I liked it and will make it again, except for boiling it down a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
During my first batch, I became distracted and left out the lemon...second batch added the lemon...hubby said first batch was better. Overall I think it's important to take your time and reduce the liquid of the tomatoes until it is nice and thick.Had it for breakfast on toasted French bread with Neufchatel cheese, Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was my first attempt at canning, so I followed the recipe to the letter. Awesome flavor. The only reason I'm giving fewer than five stars is because my yield was only 4 half-pint jars instead of 8 (I may have cooked it down too much.) I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States