Spicy Tomato Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this! However, I made a few changes which I think made it better and will help clarify the process. Instead of weighing the tomatoes, I used 12 cups of diced tomatoes, mostly because with less, the cup of vinegar I added to only 8 cups was way too vinegary for my taste. I used only one cup of brown sugar, left out the cayenne and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. I cooked it down for 2 hours and canned 3 pints. The leftover half pint tasted great on fresh bread. I'll be making lots of this - it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMLYTKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I had too many tomatoes this year so I decided to use them in this recipe, it turned out to be a nice flavour spicy tomato jam. The only thing is that I dobled the recipe and reduced the mix until it had a jam consistency and it didn't fill 7 pints, so... don't spect much from 3lbs of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is great with pork loin, pork chops, or pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dscsf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I used balsamic vinegar because it's what I had. I cut the apple juice and added a chopped apple. Love the combination of spices, reminds me of the sweet and sour meatballs my family makes at Christmas every year. I think this would be good with cranberry juice too. Might try a small batch to see. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yummy! This is a terrific recipe. We have plenty of tomatoes here in FL. and lemons. I questioned using lemons and tomatoes together and was amazed at how good they worked together. I mixed cream cheese with the jam and served it as a dip. Four guests gobbled it up in an hour and asked for more! I'll be canning this again but, this time, I'll make three batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Really great recipe, really homely and fantastically tomatoey. I also questioned the use of lemon and was ready not to put it in as it tasted so good anyway and I didn't want to ruin it. I'm glad I did though as it takes it to a whole new level! Ran out of brown sugar so used half granulated, worked perfectly, though I later realised I had some more in the cupboard. I also ran out of vinegar so drained my pickled onion jar dry! Still tastes gorgeous, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now and I love it. I have used canned diced tomatoes and fresh tomatoes and it has turned out well each time. I leave the skin on and it makes it a bit chunkier and still tastes good. The recipe is very adaptable, I seldom have all the ingredients and have used different vinegars, apple cider instead of juice, etc. I always simmer it longer on the stove than the recipe says so it thickens properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was really weirded out by the ingredients in this recipe. So much so that I almost didn't try it, boy am I glad I did. Holy cow it was good! I will be making a ton next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good, great on crackers with cream cheese. It's a good way to use up your tomato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious! Family loved it. I grow my own tomatoes and needed to use them and was glad I found this recipe. It did take 1 1/2 hours to reduce but totally worth it. Christmas is around the corner and this will make a great gift alone or in a gift basket. Thank You for reading, lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States