Spicy Tomato Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this! However, I made a few changes which I think made it better and will help clarify the process. Instead of weighing the tomatoes, I used 12 cups of diced tomatoes, mostly because with less, the cup of vinegar I added to only 8 cups was way too vinegary for my taste. I used only one cup of brown sugar, left out the cayenne and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. I cooked it down for 2 hours and canned 3 pints. The leftover half pint tasted great on fresh bread. I'll be making lots of this - it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMLYTKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was my first attempt at canning, so I followed the recipe to the letter. Awesome flavor. The only reason I'm giving fewer than five stars is because my yield was only 4 half-pint jars instead of 8 (I may have cooked it down too much.) I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Hilary
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had never heard of tomato jam before a friend mentioned it last year. Found myself with way too many grape tomatoes some months ago and decided to try a few tomato jam recipes. This one is a little too spicy for my tongue , but won a BLUE RIBBON at the State Fair this year. And my hubby & guests like it. There is no arguing with that kind of success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is kind of bland. I followed the recipe exactly, and really don't care for it at all. If I planned to make it again, I would definitely add more sugar and probably some cinnamon and nutmeg too. I expected it to be more like a relish, but it ended up tasting not spicy enough for a relish, and not sweet enough for a jam. I have to say I was somewhat disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I had too many tomatoes this year so I decided to use them in this recipe, it turned out to be a nice flavour spicy tomato jam. The only thing is that I dobled the recipe and reduced the mix until it had a jam consistency and it didn't fill 7 pints, so... don't spect much from 3lbs of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I did a double batch with an extra # of tomatoes with the hopes of 7 pints, I got 6. I like the flavor, but could have used more precise instructions as a "noob". (This is my first time canning anything other than dilly beans) I simmered for at least two hours. Apparently, that was not enough as it is still too thin. I thought maybe it would thicken up, but it hasn't. (I guess that makes sense, nothing really in it to thicken, but just want to pass that on, in case someone else thinks the same thing) I took it off the burner b/c it looked like all the tomatoes were cooked pretty much to nothing, and I had the impression that it would stay chunky, it did not. Also, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to just slice up a whole lemon or peel it. I kept it whole. I used one lemon for the whole double batch and I think that was more than enough, I can taste it clearly. Overall, I liked it and will make it again, except for boiling it down a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Gaiski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I was worried about the combination of ingredients, and even while cooking the "jam/relish," I was not certain how it was going to turn out; however, now that it's done, I'm thinking it's pretty near fantastic! I took some suggestions by reviewers and added 1/2 of a finely chopped small Gravenstein apple, 1/8 tsp ground cloves, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I did not pack the 1 1/2 C. of brown sugar, but because the jam was too vinegary-sharp tasting, I added another 1/2 C. of unpacked brown sugar. It would be great with cream cheese, chips, chicken or pork. It's worth the extra work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now and I love it. I have used canned diced tomatoes and fresh tomatoes and it has turned out well each time. I leave the skin on and it makes it a bit chunkier and still tastes good. The recipe is very adaptable, I seldom have all the ingredients and have used different vinegars, apple cider instead of juice, etc. I always simmer it longer on the stove than the recipe says so it thickens properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Spices were not intense enough. Used tea masala spice (clove,cardamon, pepper, cinnamon), in addition to those outlined in the recipe. Added double the cayenne and substituted the cider vinegar with balsamic vinegar. Used dark brown sugar to give it a more caramel flavour. Used beet/apple juice combo, pumps up the colour of the jam. A good template to work from but as it stands too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was really weirded out by the ingredients in this recipe. So much so that I almost didn't try it, boy am I glad I did. Holy cow it was good! I will be making a ton next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States