Spicy Tomato Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Farmbrough
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This works really well and makes a very authentic tomato chutney, however the instruction to "fill a saucepan with water" is mistaken as this will result in a very liquid chutney. Remember there is also a lot of liquid in the tomatoes. I would recommend reducing the water to (say) two pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I am looking for more excuses to make this and share it with friends. Like another reviewer, I couldn't find curry paste in my grocery store so I also used curry powder; there didn't seem to be in problems in the way it turned out. Also, I try to be conscious of not eating too much sugar, so I used Splenda instead and used only half the amount. For my taste, I will use even less next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very nice. I used allspice (assuming that was the same as mixed spice) and it turned out exactly as I thought it should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was delicious. I used curry powder instead of paste, and it turned out just fine. The mixed spice was a perfect mixture, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I make as many jars as possible of Spicy Tomato Chutney every Summer from our homegrown tomatoes. We enjoy it on sandwiches all year long! Simply a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
EXCELLENT CHUTNEY. I HAVE MADE NUMEROUS DIFFERENT CHUTNEYS AND THIS WAS THE ONE THAT GOT THE BEST REVIEWS FROM MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY.VERY TASTY WITH JUST A LITTLE KICK GOES WELL WITH EVERYTHING FROM CHEESES TO COLD MEAT PLATTERS AND MY OTHER HALF LOVES IT WITH HIS DINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This makes a really nice chutney. I made half a recipe and it still made a huge amount (1 litre). I only had Thai curry paste, so I substituted 1 tsp of garam masala. No mixed spice either, so used the spices recommended in the editor's note. It went very well with the veggie samosas we ate. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
No one in my family liked this :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe looks really good, but what is the "mixed spice"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
excellent! very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States