Spicy Tomato Bisque with Grilled Brie Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was good, fast and easy. I used two 14oz cans of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes because I did not have puree on hand and the texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I used the variation given by the last review, 2 14oz cans tomato sauce and one can diced tomatoes instead of the puree. It Was EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Fantastic! Quick, easy, and delicious! I too used the sauce/diced variation and it came out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATED123005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! It is very similar to the tomato basil soup you get at La Madeleine which I love. I used the 1 can of diced and 2 of sauce and when it was almost ready I used a hand blender to mash the diced tomatoes up a bit more. It turned out thick and hearty and the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I made the soup but not the sandwich. The soup is great. I cut down on the amount of cream cheese and left out the milk entirely. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
A wonderful recipe! I made this for my co-op of 30 people, and it went over just wonderfully. It is pretty spicy, so if that's a concern I would suggest cutting the crushed red pepper a tiny bit, but I really suggest putting it in there -- it makes a world of difference! I think the next time I will do a quick run through with an emulsion blender to break up a couple of the chunks of tomato, but again, not too much because it really gives it a robust feel. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrexwithSpecs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
SO easy and SO good! I did not follow the recipe exactly as far as the canned tomatoes are concerned. Did not make a difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Pure comfort food!! My family and I loved this! I doubled all the proportions and used fat-free cream cheese, but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The grilled brie sandwiches turned out very good and cooked great in the oven. Very enjoyable spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I was craving tomato bisque, even in the sweltering August heat, and this hit the spot. We love spicy but next time I will decrease the pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. Love the creaminess that the cream cheese lent. The brie toast made for a very filling meal but I'm going to forego it with the leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States