Spicy Tomato Bisque with Grilled Brie Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was good, fast and easy. I used two 14oz cans of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes because I did not have puree on hand and the texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I used the variation given by the last review, 2 14oz cans tomato sauce and one can diced tomatoes instead of the puree. It Was EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Fantastic! Quick, easy, and delicious! I too used the sauce/diced variation and it came out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATED123005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Sorry I didn't care for this at all. The brie toast was good but the soup was too spicy and the consistancy too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I made the soup but not the sandwich. The soup is great. I cut down on the amount of cream cheese and left out the milk entirely. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Absolutely loved the soup. Had other food so did not make the grilled toast but will try that soon. Used 14 oz can of tomato sauce and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes as well as low fat cream cheese. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I loved, the spice and thick texture. Easy to make. I thought it needed salt and the cream cheese gave it a bit of a sour taste. Next time I make it I am going to cut down on the cream cheese and add some butter. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Really good! I would use the other suggestions about using sauce and canned tomatoes... the consistency using just the puree was a bit thick, almost like a sauce. I even doubled the milk in order to thin it, but it didn't really help. The brie toasts were delicious! I never thought to make a grilled cheese out of brie and rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
The soup was really good! I just didn't enjoy the brie toast so much- I think I would prefer a different cheese. I didn't have rye, so I used whole-wheat. I cut the recipe in half for me and my two children. They really liked the soup (I made their toasts with cheddar and they liked that too). The soup is tangy and flavorful. Even though I used a whisk, I still had tiny peices of cream cheese that didn't get incorporated, but it was hardly noticeable. I omitted the red pepper flakes so I (and the babies)would enjoy it more. ;) I used a can of tomato sauce too, instead of puree. Good simple recipe, and no harder than heating up canned tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Awesome and easy to make. Great for cold, rainy weekend nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States