Spicy Tomato Bisque with Grilled Brie Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I had to suit it to my own tastes (and what was in my fridge, because I didn't plan ahead. Still tasted great. I'll make it again. Instead of brie I used havarti because my guy isn't a fan of the pungent french cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I added some grated onion, freshly grated Parmesan cheese and a few more tsp of sugar and it was really good. Beware though, if you do not like a lot of spice, you may want to dial back the red pepper flakes. I like spicy and this was almost too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This wonderful! I made my own puree from tomatoes from our garden. I didn't have brie, but made croutons out of the rye bread and sprinkled on top of the bisque. They added a nice texture and added flavor. I have some more tomatoes to process- will make more bisque this week. Will make sure I have Brie this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I was craving tomato bisque, even in the sweltering August heat, and this hit the spot. We love spicy but next time I will decrease the pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. Love the creaminess that the cream cheese lent. The brie toast made for a very filling meal but I'm going to forego it with the leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is delicious and super easy. I used canned diced fire roasted tomatoes instead of tomato puree because i like some tomato chunks instead of completely smooth. I also added some garlic and some chicken stock to taste. I used baguettes instead of rye with the Brie and I also made some with parmesan. I floated the crostini on top of the soup instead of pouring soup over it because I like a little crunch left in the bread as you eat it. Once I had everything assembled I blended part of the soup to smooth it out and I found the second time I made it that if you blend the cream cheese you won't end up with little bits of cream cheese floating in the soup. If you love tomato soup you will love this. I made it three days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Savory with lots of great robust flavors I love. I've made this many times, and this meal always feels like it feeds my soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I would disagree with the word "spicy" in the title-- even my spice-phobic four year old liked it and I was generous with the pepper-- but the recipe was fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
For everyone who is have trouble getting the cream cheese to blend into the soup... cut it into chunks and let it come to room temperature. It will soften the cheese and allows it to melt perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used a 14 oz. can of the puree and a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes w/oregano, garlic & basil. I also skipped the toast part. This recipe was so yummy I am going to make it all the time! Thank you so much for posting it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
The tomato bisque made a better pizza sauce the next day than a soup. Too thick. Grilled brie toast was very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States