Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I think this recipe would have been lovely just as written... but as any good home cook does, I tailored it to fit my family's taste. I kept the basic recipe almost the same (doubled) and then added 2 carrots (that I sauteed with the onions), 2 large handfuls of fresh kale (that I also sauteed before adding the liquid), cumin seeds instead of ground cumin (that I roasted in the bottom of the pan that I sauteed in), and some mexican oregano. I also did not have red lentils, so I used the brown lentils we had on hand. I added enough water to keep it a soup but not give it a watered down taste. And I salt and peppered to taste. It was a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes for lentil soup. Whenever I make it, I use two cups of water and simmer the soup for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great recipe. Added some garlic as well. Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Easy to make but I found it quite bland. I tried adding veg stock cubes and more cumin but still pretty average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Fast and Easy basic recipe for Tomato Lentil Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and NEVER had a problem with it getting thick--until today. Two things occurred which are different from usual and I don't know which one was the culprit but I suspect it was a combination of the two. First, I forgot to rinse the lentils and second I didn't cook them until they were mush. They were done when I blended them but they weren't mushy. Next time I will pay better attention. It has taken a lot of extra spices, beef broth, red wine, and some cream to fix my mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is my first lentil soup and I did use other reviews to do as follows - used 4 cups no salt added chicken broth, 2 cloves garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 cup shredded carrot and 1 cup cooked spinach. I also used a can of diced tomatoes with chiles and lime juice. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea98

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I did a lot of substituting with what was on hand--a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of plain tomatoes and a chile pepper--and I used oregano instead of basil and added a 1/2 teaspoon of chipotle powder, which included salt and pepper. Only problem was that pot was too big and soup was too shallow for the immersion blender. Next time I will double the recipe, and/or add more water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! Wouldn't change a thing. The measurements were spot on. I grew up having traditional lentil soup but was in the mood for Tomato soup and found this recipe. Glad I did! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
It was very good BUT even though I added another cup of water it was NOT soup. What did I do wrong? However I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States