Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe gets 5 stars based on the following modifications I made: 1/2 onion is plenty, 1 28 oz can tomatoes, 2 cups water (without the additional water and tomatoes it is way too thick), 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (or more if you like heat) 1 1/2 tsp cumin. The suggestion of sour cream as a topping is a good one. I blend this with a hand blender, but didn't blend it smooth - I think it's better with a bit of body left to the lentils. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissesMeowmix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I found this recipe to be a wonderful idea. I doubled it and it was lovely. I changed a couple of things to suit our taste: I used a jalepeno instead of a chile, chicken broth instead of water, about 2 teaspoons of cumin, 5 cloves garlic, lots of lime juice, salt and seasoning. I also added oregano since I did not have basil. Served with sour cream and cheese. This was a very simple soup, everyone liked it a lot, and I am delighted to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This lentil soup is very tasty with just the right amount of heat. Instead of 1 cup of water I used 4 cups of vegetable broth, and followed the rest of the recipe. The soup get high raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Went to Egypt to see my friend who loved lentil soup, we cooked this together adding 2 stock cubes and a bit more water, it was really lovely and I am going to cook it today for my work mates as it is such a cold windy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I was good. I added low sodium beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
very good and easy. First time making lentils, and i now like lentils :) This needed a little more seasoning for my taste, so I added 3 cloves garlic and used a whole, seeded jalapeno, 1 full tsp cumin, dashes of celery salt, 1 can fat free chicken broth instead of water and a pinch of mexican oregano. More fresh basil would be excellent in this. I have a tomato garden in bloom so I used 4 medium fresh tomatoes, instead of canned. This is a hearty soup, and excellent with the recommended sour cream and basil garnishes. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
In terms of flavor and ease, this soup is a 5. However, I'm giving it 4 stars because the amounts were way off for me. I added 4 cups of water, and still got a really, really thick soup! After adding so much water to get the right consistency, it wasn't tomato-y enough, so I added another can of fire-roasted tomatoes. I also added a teaspoon minced garlic, and used 1/2 teaspoon cayenne. I will definitely make this again with these revisions! Delicious with sour cream on top on buttered toasted rolls. mmmm... I'm glad I increased the water, because it made 8 cups of soup, which meant bigger portions and no extra calories. Very, very filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Maybe I just don't like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lachine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I should have used a hotter pepper or added more spice as well as liquid and cook a little longer to soften the lentils a bit more. I normally have everything for this recipe on hand so it could become a regular last minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States