Spicy Three Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gcgirl18
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Quick easy garlicky recipe that makes for an ideal snack on the run. It has a kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this recipe. I did make some changes. I used greek peperoncini peppers vs. jalapenos. I also added an extra Tbsp. Olive oil in blending and 1/4 water. I cut my cayenne pepper to 3/4 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp Cavender's Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Subbed peanut butter for tahini as someone else suggested, and followed the recipe otherwise. Yuck. We eat store bought hummus all the time, but this is not good. My daughter said it tasted like super hot peanut butter paste. There seems to be way too much cayenne in this - it's completely overpowering. I would also recommend using a food processor - my stand mixer (Kitchenaid) with wire whisk just didn't get it very smooth at all, even after mixing and scraping for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYBOR72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I, too, am a fan of the same brand of Spicy Three Pepper Hummus, so it was great to find this recipe. A couple of observations: (i) in order to achieve a smooth consistency, considerably more olive oil was needed; and (ii) to achieve a closer taste to the name brand, add some finely diced red pepper and 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, which brightens the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe highlights the versatility of hummus. I followed the recipe as written, except I added one more slice of jalapeno and ground white and black pepper by 'guesstimate'. I also had to add about 2 tsp more oil as it came out a bit thick the next morning. Regardless, this recipe is excellent and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was my first attempt at making hummus. I really liked this recipe. I realized I was out of jalapenos after already committing to this, so I used the juice from a jar of pepperoncini's. It still had a nice bite to it. I didn't think the garlic was over-powering, but I think I will roast it next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Very good, much better than the 3 spice from the grocery. Much spicier we a very smooth flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is the best hummus recipe I've tried yet! For me, the balance of flavors was spot on (I err on the side of spicy and garlicky). I found the texture to be just right, too--not overly creamy, not too dense. This recipe gets two thumbs up from this avid hummus fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is terrific! I did cut back on the garlic. I was out of jarred jalapeno's so I used 2 fresh Jalapeno's. Didn't have juice from the jarred jalapeno's so I used the juice from a jar of pepperoncini's. Very spicy just the way I like it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States