Spicy Three Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Quick easy garlicky recipe that makes for an ideal snack on the run. It has a kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this recipe. I did make some changes. I used greek peperoncini peppers vs. jalapenos. I also added an extra Tbsp. Olive oil in blending and 1/4 water. I cut my cayenne pepper to 3/4 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp Cavender's Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Subbed peanut butter for tahini as someone else suggested, and followed the recipe otherwise. Yuck. We eat store bought hummus all the time, but this is not good. My daughter said it tasted like super hot peanut butter paste. There seems to be way too much cayenne in this - it's completely overpowering. I would also recommend using a food processor - my stand mixer (Kitchenaid) with wire whisk just didn't get it very smooth at all, even after mixing and scraping for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYBOR72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I, too, am a fan of the same brand of Spicy Three Pepper Hummus, so it was great to find this recipe. A couple of observations: (i) in order to achieve a smooth consistency, considerably more olive oil was needed; and (ii) to achieve a closer taste to the name brand, add some finely diced red pepper and 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, which brightens the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe highlights the versatility of hummus. I followed the recipe as written, except I added one more slice of jalapeno and ground white and black pepper by 'guesstimate'. I also had to add about 2 tsp more oil as it came out a bit thick the next morning. Regardless, this recipe is excellent and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was my first attempt at making hummus. I really liked this recipe. I realized I was out of jalapenos after already committing to this, so I used the juice from a jar of pepperoncini's. It still had a nice bite to it. I didn't think the garlic was over-powering, but I think I will roast it next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Very good, much better than the 3 spice from the grocery. Much spicier we a very smooth flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is the best hummus recipe I've tried yet! For me, the balance of flavors was spot on (I err on the side of spicy and garlicky). I found the texture to be just right, too--not overly creamy, not too dense. This recipe gets two thumbs up from this avid hummus fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States