Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe depends a lot on your taste, so you must play with it. Personally, I thought that 1/2 cup of dry wine and 2 tbs of fish sauce was enough. I added a full package of diced firm tofu. I did not do the rice part because I prefer rice noodles. You can replace (although not as good) lemon grass with a full lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Have made this recipe several times. Halfed the rice and made it with chicken as well as following the recipe exactly as is. Doubled carrots and used spinach rather than broccoli. I like the spinance better than broccoli, too. Used sour cream instead of plain yogurt everytime. Used the juice of one lemon b/c didn't have lemon grass. Yum! Not a fan of cilantro, so never used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made it twice and love it. I prefer to cook the broccoli and bell pepper shorter so they are still a bit crisp when the soup is done so add them 15 minutes after I start simmering everything together. Love the lemon grass and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! I had some leftover veggies and rice and found it a wonderful way to re-invent them. As for the negative reviews, one has to like Thai cooking in order to like the soup. It's all a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Absolutely love this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
this recipe is very good. It's kind of light and very filling at the same time. It is quite spicy so if you don't like that i'd reduce the chili peppers. Also i subbed the lemon grass (didn't have any) for lemon zest. I pureed about half of it to retain some texture and everyone in my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was delicious. A little too spicy. I would recommend either the chile pepper OR the pepper garlic sauce, not both. Like others, I did not blend the soup, but that might be worth trying in the future. I skipped the saffron and added the juice of half of a lime since I thought it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I didnt like it at all, I followed the recipe except for the saffron but I cant imagine that the saffron would change the taste very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
One of the best soups ever. It has a strong complex flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I am giving this a 4 instead of a 5 for a couple of reasons and please keep in mind that I followed the recipe to a T down to the saffron. My first reason is that it is an extremely costly soup to make and didn't have the "wow" factor that something so pricey should have had in my opinion. Secondly because I think the ginger overpowered the other ingredients for the most part. I did blend it in batches as the recipe called for but didn't blend what would be considered the last batch and I actually enjoyed it more. The blended dispersed the flavors a little better but the non-blended looked much more appealing and you could taste the individual flavors better. All in all good recipe (blended or not) if you scaled down on the ginger and like coconut based soups so I am giving it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States