Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I really dislike the texture of pureed soups, so I skipped that part. I omitted the saffron because it's a bit pricey. I also had to cut the pepper garlic sauce and fish sauce because I couldn't find them. I didn't simmer for quite so long because I didn't want the vegetables to get soft. Everything else I kept the same though and WOW! It's a very thin soup, but with the rice it's quite filling and sooooo delicious! oh the flavors are just fantastic, and we didn't miss the meat at all. It's a fantastic main dish all by itself. The coconut milk is slightly sweet, which balances out the peppers and ginger. Absolutely wonderful, and I definitely plan to make it again. Edit: stll haven't gotten the garlic sauce, but did get some fish sauce. would definitely recommend NOT using the amt listed in the recipe. fish sauce is ridiculously potent and a little goes a long way. 3tbsp is obscene. 1 tbsp is more than enough, maybe even too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe is delicious and very spicy. The only trouble is, unless you buy pre-chopped vegetables and ginger, the prep time is more like 45 minutes. It's well worth the effort. We added chicken that had been sauteed in Thai garlic sauce and will probably double the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I am giving this a 4 instead of a 5 for a couple of reasons and please keep in mind that I followed the recipe to a T down to the saffron. My first reason is that it is an extremely costly soup to make and didn't have the "wow" factor that something so pricey should have had in my opinion. Secondly because I think the ginger overpowered the other ingredients for the most part. I did blend it in batches as the recipe called for but didn't blend what would be considered the last batch and I actually enjoyed it more. The blended dispersed the flavors a little better but the non-blended looked much more appealing and you could taste the individual flavors better. All in all good recipe (blended or not) if you scaled down on the ginger and like coconut based soups so I am giving it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Excellent and super easy! I sometimes make it with chicken broth instead of veggie and always use broth in place of the wine. This soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Pretty good. I missed out the fish sauce (we're vegetarian) and broccoli, and added pak choi & baby sweetcorn. Also, I didn't liquidise. I grated the lemon grass on a very fine grater. Good strong well developed flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I left out the garlic and pepper sauce and increased the quantities of veggies. Great for getting vegetables into those who turn their noses up. Like a thick and morish green thai curry sauce so would be great on chicken, beef or prawns. I'm really impressed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was a great tasting recipe. I couldn't find saffron nor the thai pepper garlic sauce nor the thai chilies but the soup turned out great regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was delicious. A little too spicy. I would recommend either the chile pepper OR the pepper garlic sauce, not both. Like others, I did not blend the soup, but that might be worth trying in the future. I skipped the saffron and added the juice of half of a lime since I thought it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was perfect after a weekend of over indulgence. It's quite filling without being heavy. I left out the saffron but added in some kaffir lime leaves while it simmered and removed them before I pureed it. I agree that it would be great with the addition of almost any kind of meat. Will absolutely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I added eggplant from my garden and lemongrass from my garden. I cooked a whole chicken and used the stock and meat. I did not puree the soup. I added sliced mushrooms and left out the sour cream and cilantro. My husband and kids loved it, too. Thanks so much for a great recipe!! Can't wait to make it again. Sincerely, A mom from Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States