Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe is delicious and very spicy. The only trouble is, unless you buy pre-chopped vegetables and ginger, the prep time is more like 45 minutes. It's well worth the effort. We added chicken that had been sauteed in Thai garlic sauce and will probably double the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I left out the garlic and pepper sauce and increased the quantities of veggies. Great for getting vegetables into those who turn their noses up. Like a thick and morish green thai curry sauce so would be great on chicken, beef or prawns. I'm really impressed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was perfect after a weekend of over indulgence. It's quite filling without being heavy. I left out the saffron but added in some kaffir lime leaves while it simmered and removed them before I pureed it. I agree that it would be great with the addition of almost any kind of meat. Will absolutely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Pretty good. I missed out the fish sauce (we're vegetarian) and broccoli, and added pak choi & baby sweetcorn. Also, I didn't liquidise. I grated the lemon grass on a very fine grater. Good strong well developed flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup, it works well with white rice too, even with white rice for sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Yum! My boyfriend and I both couldn't stop raving about this recipe! I only changed the recipe a little; I only used 2 chili peppers, I subsituted the bell pepper with three celery stalks, replaced lemon grass with a tsp lemon juice, and couldn't find my fish sauce or chili garlic sauce (oh, roommates...) and used about half a cup of cilantro. It was a fabulous bread dipper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This recipe was phenomenal. Very adaptable--I didn't have any lemon grass, and I substituted mushrooms and potatoes in place of the broccoli and carrots. It basically tastes like red Thai curry, just a little more soup-like--it's delicious. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a good recipe. I didn't really like it as a soup though. i threw in chicken and a bunch of vegetables and served it over rice. It was just to thin in my opinion. Lots of interesting flavors though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I really dislike the texture of pureed soups, so I skipped that part. I omitted the saffron because it's a bit pricey. I also had to cut the pepper garlic sauce and fish sauce because I couldn't find them. I didn't simmer for quite so long because I didn't want the vegetables to get soft. Everything else I kept the same though and WOW! It's a very thin soup, but with the rice it's quite filling and sooooo delicious! oh the flavors are just fantastic, and we didn't miss the meat at all. It's a fantastic main dish all by itself. The coconut milk is slightly sweet, which balances out the peppers and ginger. Absolutely wonderful, and I definitely plan to make it again. Edit: stll haven't gotten the garlic sauce, but did get some fish sauce. would definitely recommend NOT using the amt listed in the recipe. fish sauce is ridiculously potent and a little goes a long way. 3tbsp is obscene. 1 tbsp is more than enough, maybe even too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I added eggplant from my garden and lemongrass from my garden. I cooked a whole chicken and used the stock and meat. I did not puree the soup. I added sliced mushrooms and left out the sour cream and cilantro. My husband and kids loved it, too. Thanks so much for a great recipe!! Can't wait to make it again. Sincerely, A mom from Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States