Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Super Yummy! We added chicken to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was a great tasting recipe. I couldn't find saffron nor the thai pepper garlic sauce nor the thai chilies but the soup turned out great regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Excellent and super easy! I sometimes make it with chicken broth instead of veggie and always use broth in place of the wine. This soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I added eggplant from my garden and lemongrass from my garden. I cooked a whole chicken and used the stock and meat. I did not puree the soup. I added sliced mushrooms and left out the sour cream and cilantro. My husband and kids loved it, too. Thanks so much for a great recipe!! Can't wait to make it again. Sincerely, A mom from Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I really dislike the texture of pureed soups, so I skipped that part. I omitted the saffron because it's a bit pricey. I also had to cut the pepper garlic sauce and fish sauce because I couldn't find them. I didn't simmer for quite so long because I didn't want the vegetables to get soft. Everything else I kept the same though and WOW! It's a very thin soup, but with the rice it's quite filling and sooooo delicious! oh the flavors are just fantastic, and we didn't miss the meat at all. It's a fantastic main dish all by itself. The coconut milk is slightly sweet, which balances out the peppers and ginger. Absolutely wonderful, and I definitely plan to make it again. Edit: stll haven't gotten the garlic sauce, but did get some fish sauce. would definitely recommend NOT using the amt listed in the recipe. fish sauce is ridiculously potent and a little goes a long way. 3tbsp is obscene. 1 tbsp is more than enough, maybe even too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is a good recipe. I didn't really like it as a soup though. i threw in chicken and a bunch of vegetables and served it over rice. It was just to thin in my opinion. Lots of interesting flavors though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This recipe was phenomenal. Very adaptable--I didn't have any lemon grass, and I substituted mushrooms and potatoes in place of the broccoli and carrots. It basically tastes like red Thai curry, just a little more soup-like--it's delicious. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Yum! My boyfriend and I both couldn't stop raving about this recipe! I only changed the recipe a little; I only used 2 chili peppers, I subsituted the bell pepper with three celery stalks, replaced lemon grass with a tsp lemon juice, and couldn't find my fish sauce or chili garlic sauce (oh, roommates...) and used about half a cup of cilantro. It was a fabulous bread dipper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup, it works well with white rice too, even with white rice for sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Pretty good. I missed out the fish sauce (we're vegetarian) and broccoli, and added pak choi & baby sweetcorn. Also, I didn't liquidise. I grated the lemon grass on a very fine grater. Good strong well developed flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Stroud, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States