Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was outstanding. My first use of tarragon. The tarragon and cumin make such an awesome flavor combination. I didn't make the harissa sauce (though I think I will in the future), so I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used sriracha and some other spices as a substitute. Once I tasted the yogurt sauce, I knew I couldn't just use it as a marinade and then just toss the rest of it--so instead of grilling, I baked the chicken breasts in the marinade at 375 for about an hour. The chicken was so ridiculously moist and flavorful! And then I spooned some of the sauce (it makes a TON) over roasted veggies. I will DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was very tasty, although I did not have harissa, or the ingredients to make it, so I just added some cayenne to the marinade to try to get some spice. I will make it again with harissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Tasty and didn't make a mess of the grill. I use a different Harissa sauce and next time will add more. Chicken was very juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was SO delicious! Thank you, Chef John! I made the recipe for six servings and baked them at 400 for 20-25 minutes. According to my husband, this ranks in one of the Top 5 meals I've ever made. :) AND thanks to Rex Hutcheson's suggestion, I also made your delicious Braised Black Lentils as well. Perfect pair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Everyone loved this recipe. My brother even asked for a copy. I used Le Phare du Cap Bon Harissa from the Middle Eastern grocer and Greek yogurt is a must. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This recipe was wonderful! It takes a little extra time to marinate, but it's well worth it. The chicken is so juicy! I bought some Moroccan Harissa sauce at a Middle Eastern grocery, and it was just perfect. I used chicken thighs, and that works, too. I will definitely use this again, and am recommending it to a friend, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I liked it a lot better with cilantro - tarragon is not my favorite herb and is not normally used with yogurt and spicy sauces such as Harissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
WOW!! I can't even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this dish. I went by the directions exactly. However, I used "already tenderized" chicken breasts. Unfortunately I didn't have fresh tarragon available, but even with the dried version, the flavor was outstanding. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Harissa and have been trying to find recipes that incorporate it. I served it with a side of pine nut couscous mixed in with grilled asparagus, goat cheese and a drizzle of lemon juice/olive oil. YUMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCreamer
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Delicious. The yogurt marinade was so flavorful and had an amazing aroma. I couldn't find Harissa sauce so I used "an Asian chili paste". I grilled the chicken and made some tasted veggies to go along with the yard bird. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCreamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Love, love, love this recipe. Chef John thank you so much for this dish. Just the right amount of spice and so, so tender. I serve these as a sandwich with garlic aioli and fresh greens. Mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Chicken Breasts

See how to make a flavorful rub for grilled skinless, boneless chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States