Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is my new favorite way to fix sweet potatoes. I loved the spicy, sweet flavor! I needed to add a little more salt at the end, but other than that, these potatoes were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great taste, but you really have to keep an eye on them in the oven ~ when they start to burn on the bottom they go fast! Also absolutly use foil lined pans, even if the pans are non stick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENA13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a very tasty dish, good for thanksgiving and christmas dinner...It put a different spin on things, aside from the normal candied yams we have each year. However, a few suggestions: First, I used butter instead of oil, as it gave it a richer flavor. Second, I cut the potatoes a bit thicker than 1 inch...probably 2 inches, as I enjoyed more of a texture than the 1 inchers could provide. Third, if you are going to put marshmallows onto this dish, you need a more extensive amount, as only a few just cooked into the dish (though it made a wonder candy coating!). I omitted the pepper, though it was good...but just wasn't for thanksgiving. Both ways are good in different ways, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My guests loved this dish! So simple to make. My modifications were the result of not having enough sweet potatoes: I had to use one large red potato (with skins) which did not disrupt the dish's flavor (may have added some eye appeal). I also lacked the cayenne pepper so I substituted chili pepper (cayenne would have added a little more 'heat' to the dish which I would have liked). I must admit I liberally greased the pan with butter!! Yum yum... My wife wants me to make it for her and my daughter again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geodimon
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Served this for Thanksgiving but only had chili powder. It worked fine and everyone including myself, who is not a sweet potato fan, loved them. I even ate what little was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this EXACTLY as specified.. EXCELLENT. Will make again and again. Thinking about putting these on a slicer and cut very very thin and baking like a chip.. Yummm these are very very good...Thanks for sharing.. My new favorite way to make sweet Potatoes.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
A wonderful savory twist to sweet potatoes. I broiled the last 5 mins. to caramelize the top. So fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe, I might be weird, but I dip them in ketchup, oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
these are seriously yummy, especially considering that you make them with ingredients that you generally have in the cabinet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was delicious. I doubled the recipe and used half yams and half regular sweet potatoes and it turned out great. All of us enjoyed the yellow sweet potatoes best, so I will probably just use those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K-10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States