Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is my new favorite way to fix sweet potatoes. I loved the spicy, sweet flavor! I needed to add a little more salt at the end, but other than that, these potatoes were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great taste, but you really have to keep an eye on them in the oven ~ when they start to burn on the bottom they go fast! Also absolutly use foil lined pans, even if the pans are non stick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENA13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a very tasty dish, good for thanksgiving and christmas dinner...It put a different spin on things, aside from the normal candied yams we have each year. However, a few suggestions: First, I used butter instead of oil, as it gave it a richer flavor. Second, I cut the potatoes a bit thicker than 1 inch...probably 2 inches, as I enjoyed more of a texture than the 1 inchers could provide. Third, if you are going to put marshmallows onto this dish, you need a more extensive amount, as only a few just cooked into the dish (though it made a wonder candy coating!). I omitted the pepper, though it was good...but just wasn't for thanksgiving. Both ways are good in different ways, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My guests loved this dish! So simple to make. My modifications were the result of not having enough sweet potatoes: I had to use one large red potato (with skins) which did not disrupt the dish's flavor (may have added some eye appeal). I also lacked the cayenne pepper so I substituted chili pepper (cayenne would have added a little more 'heat' to the dish which I would have liked). I must admit I liberally greased the pan with butter!! Yum yum... My wife wants me to make it for her and my daughter again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geodimon
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Served this for Thanksgiving but only had chili powder. It worked fine and everyone including myself, who is not a sweet potato fan, loved them. I even ate what little was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this EXACTLY as specified.. EXCELLENT. Will make again and again. Thinking about putting these on a slicer and cut very very thin and baking like a chip.. Yummm these are very very good...Thanks for sharing.. My new favorite way to make sweet Potatoes.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
A wonderful savory twist to sweet potatoes. I broiled the last 5 mins. to caramelize the top. So fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe, I might be weird, but I dip them in ketchup, oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
these are seriously yummy, especially considering that you make them with ingredients that you generally have in the cabinet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was delicious. I doubled the recipe and used half yams and half regular sweet potatoes and it turned out great. All of us enjoyed the yellow sweet potatoes best, so I will probably just use those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K-10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States