Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Love this recipe. Have made it several times for a side. I put extra cayenne to make it more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have never cooked sweet potatoes before, but the reviews were great. This was amazing! It only took 30 minutes and the seasoning pleased all my picky eaters. I will make use a little less cayenne next time, though, as we don't like spicy things. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very tasty! Definitely sweet with a nice touch of spice and a little kick from the cayenne - not your average sweet potato... You can adjust the cayenne to your tastes and watch your cooking time. These potatoes were done in about 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
OK, The 5 stars are because the people at the Easter dinner I took this side dish to all loved it (or at least said they did)! I wasn't that excited but probably not the fault of the recipe. The recipe is for 8 servings and I needed a dish for 12 people. I had almost 5# of yams and it made a very full 9x13 pan. I tripled the ingredients called for but when it was baked I couldn't feel any of the heat and I'm a wimp about hot stuff! I do like candied yams but this was a nice change and will make it again. I will add more of everything even if it is a small dish for "8". BTW..... Took a lot longer to bake too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
WOW!! Love this! So simple yet so delicious!! It's a nice change from sweet and sticky marshmallow sweet potatoes everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These were a big hit - I didn't put the cayenne pepper in; I was afraid it would be too spicy for our young kids. Make sure to line your pan with aluminum foil for easy clean up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
YUM!!! These were delish!! Brought them to a friends' for a cookout and both couples raved and asked for the recipe. I did find, as many other reviewers mentioned, that 40-45 minutes was way too long, as my potatoes tasted amazing but they turned mushy. They also do not crisp up. Next time I will try baking them for 20-30 or so (just until tender) and then place them under the broiler for a few minutes, flipping once, to brown all sides. While we LOVE spicy, they are a smidge spicy for kids, so I would do a tad less cayenne next time, but not much less. The heat is near perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Used olive oil. I didn't have cayenne so used 1 teaspoon chili powder and 1 teaspoon cinammon. Also used 2 teaspoons brown sugar (not tablespoons). They are delicious! Took about 35-40 minutes to cook. I cut the pieces fairly small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made these for Christmas - my whole family loved them. It was a nice change from the usual sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I give it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States