Spicy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Love it!!! Taste great!!! I also added chicken meat from the bullion and some bacon. Amazing!!! Will do it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yevgeniya Zhenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is wonderful! The dollop of lime-infused cream is essential! I did use the suggested crème fraiche - and even added some extra zest directly to the soup. Measuring the potatoes as cups would have been helpful - I had small sweet potatoes from a neighbor's garden and didn't know if I really had enough. I did. Using the immersion blender allows you to use crunchy peanut butter or leave the soup as "lumpy" as you wish. I recently had dental surgery, and this is smooth enough to not have to chew, but thick enough to make me think I'm really eating something! Definitely going into my "soup rotation!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Easy to make. I don't have a blender and was able to mash the potatoes with a fork. Lots of flavor for such a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My daughter and her kids (3 under 3 yrs old) came for dinner. I thought the soup might be a little too spicy for the kids with 2tbsp of ginger... But they Loved it. The 1 yr old was practically swimming in soup and the twins asked for a 2nd helping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Amazing as it is the only change I would make would be to add peanuts. Otherwise, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made this soup this morning and I originally gave it 3 stars because the peanut butter flavor (and smell) was overwhelming when you first add it to the soup. But I left it in the dutch oven for about 3 hours before eating it for lunch and the pb totally mellowed out. The rest of the flavors all blended together. The hint of lime was fantastic. I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was very tasty change from the usual and I found it delicious. I stuck to the recipe ( except for the cilantro, don´t like it!!). The only criticism I have is the vague instruction on the amount of sweet potato. I used one very large one and had to add some more water as it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Followed other's advice and added one can of lite coconut milk. Used a mix of ground red pepper and flakes...not sure it mattered. Was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I used a potato masher once it was cooked and that worked well. Also I put more spice in but I still couldn't taste it. It was just ok to me but my girlfriend liked it pretty well. Maybe it's because I skipped the lime zest in the whipped cream? Also I used 3 tablespoons of dried ginger instead of 2 of fresh but couldn't taste it. Just not a lot of flavor. I may make it again and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I too used 1 tablespoon peanut butter and added 1 can of cocoanut milk. It was very good with that extra Thai flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States